Death toll in Uri attack rises to 18 after injured soldier succumbs

The death toll of soldiers killed in yesterday’s militant attack on army base in Uri has risen to 18.

Published: 19th September 2016 04:05 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th September 2016 04:06 PM   |  A+A-

SRINAGAR: The death toll of soldiers killed in yesterday’s militant attack on army base in Uri has risen to 18 after a critically injured soldier succumbed to injuries at military hospital in New Delhi on Monday.

“Sepoy K Vikas Janardhan, who was critically injured in yesterday’s militant attack in Uri, succumbed to injuries at R&R Hospital, New Delhi,” an army official said.

With sepoy Janardhan’s death, the death toll of soldiers killed in yesterday’s deadliest militant attack on army base in Uri, North Kashmir, has risen to 18.

17 soldiers were killed and 30 others injured after fidayeen stormed army base in Uri town yesterday morning. All the four attackers were also killed in the over three-hour long gunfight.

Of the 17 soldiers killed in yesterday’s militant attack on army base in Uri, 13 had died of fire after the tents and shelters were gutted in the blaze caused by militant fire and grenades.

Although no militant group has claimed responsibility of the attack, army has blamed Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammad militant outfit for the attack.

Meanwhile, the wreath laying ceremony of the slain army men was held at Army headquarters at Badamibagh Cantonment in Srinagar today.

Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, GoC 15 Corps Lt Gen Satish Dua, J&K DGP K Rajendra and other security officials laid wreaths on the coffins of the slain soldiers.

After the wreath laying, CM Mehbooba met the injured in the military hospital  and prayed for their speedy recovery. Earlier, the army released names and pictures of the slain army men killed in yesterday’s militant attack.


The slain soldiers were identified as :

Subedar Karnail Singh, r/o Vill Shibu Chak, Teh- Bishnah, Dist Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir.

Havildar Ravi Paul, r/o Samba, Dist Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir.

Sepoy Rakesh Singh, r/o Vill Baddja, Dist Kaimur, Bihar.

Sepoy Javra Munda, r/o Vill Meral, Dist Khuti, Jharkhand.

Sepoy Naiman Kujur, r/o Vill Gumla, Chainpur, Jharkhand.

Sepoy Uike Janrao, r/o Vill Nandgaon (Kh), Dist Amravati, Maharashtra.

Havildar NS Rawat, r/o Vill Rajawa, Dist Rajasmand, Rajasthan.

Sepoy Ganesh Shankar, r/o Vill Ghoorapalli, Dist Sant Kabir Nagar, Uttar Pradesh.

Naik SK Vidarthi, r/o Vill Boknari, Dist Gaya, Bihar.

Sepoy Biswajit Ghorai, r/o Vill Ganga Sagar, Dist South 24 Parganas, West Bengal.

Lance Naik G Shankar, r/o Vill Jashi, Dist Satara, Maharashtra.

Sep G Dalai, r/o Vill Jamuna Balia, Dist Howarah, West Bengal.

Lance Naik RK Yadav, r/o Vill Balia, Uttar Pradesh.

Sepoy Harinder Yadav, r/o Vill Ghazipur, Dist Ghazipur, Uttar Pradesh.

Sepoy TS Somnath, r/o Vill Khadangali, Dist Nashik, Maharashtra.

Havildar Ashok Kumar Singh, r/o Vill Raktu Tola, Dist Bhojpur, Bihar.

Sepoy Rajesh kr Singh, r/o Vill Jaunpur, Uttar Pradesh.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp