Former Gujarat Congress MLA Amit Chaudhary joins BJP

Chaudhary along with his supporters joined the BJP in the presence of Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy CM Nitin Patel and state BJP president Jitubhai Vaghani.

Published: 29th August 2017 08:19 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th August 2017 08:19 PM   |  A+A-

File Photo of BJP Flags.


AHMEDABAD: Former Gujarat Congress MLA Amit Chaudhary, who had cross voted in the recently held Rajya Sabha polls before giving his resignation, today joined the ruling BJP.

Chaudhary along with his supporters joined the BJP in the presence of Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy CM Nitin Patel and state BJP president Jitubhai Vaghani at a function held in his constituency of Manasa in Gandhinagar district.

Speaking on the occasion, Rupani expressed confidence that the BJP will once again come to power in Gujarat with a thumping majority, said a government release.

"People are joining the BJP because we believe in the politics of development, not vote bank politics. I am confident that Chaudhary and his supporters will take forward the BJP's development agenda ahead," said Rupani.

With this fresh induction, six former Congress MLAs have joined the BJP during the last one week while three had joined ahead of the Rajya Sabha poll.

Others who had joined BJP during last one week include Ramsinh Parmar, Mansinh Chauhan, Karamshi Patel, C K Raulji and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

On August 21, Rupani had announced that the former Congress MLAs, who either resigned ahead of the August 8 Rajya Sabha polls or voted against Congress candidate Ahmed Patel, will join the BJP soon.

A total of thirteen Congress MLAs, loyalists of former Congress strongman Shankersinh Vaghela, resigned from the party ahead of or after the August 8 election, along with Vaghela himself.

Balwantsinh Rajput, Tejashreeben Patel and Prahlad Patel had already joined the BJP before the election. Vaghela hasn't yet revealed his own plans.

Remaining four former MLAs -- Vaghela's son Mahendrasinh, Bholabhai Gohel, Chhanabhai Chaudhary and Raghavji Patel -- are expected to follow suit in the days to come.

Ahmed Patel won the close contest amid cross-voting by rebel Congress MLAs, including the Vaghela father-son duo, defeating the BJP's Balwantsinh Rajput.

In 182-member Assembly, whose strength is now reduced to 168 following the resignations of 14 MLAs, the BJP has 122 members, Congress 43, NCP 2 and JD(U) one.

Assembly elections are due in the state later this year.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp