Election Commission announces bypolls to 4 assembly seats on August 23

The by-elections in Bawana (Delhi), Panaji and Valpoi (Goa) and Nandyal (Andhra Pradesh) will be held on August 23.

Published: 27th July 2017 05:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th July 2017 11:48 PM   |  A+A-

EVM, Voting

Image used for representational purpose.

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: The poll panel on Thursday announced by polls to four assembly seats, including Panaji, from where Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar is likely to contest. With Parrikar becoming the chief minister again after the recent assembly polls, he should become an MLA within six months of taking the oath.

The by-elections in Bawana (Delhi), Panaji and Valpoi (Goa) and Nandyal (Andhra Pradesh) will be held on August 23.

As per the EC schedule, the notification for the byelections would be issued on July 29, Saturday, beginning the nomination process. While August 5 is the last date for filing nominations, August 9 is the last date of withdrawing from the electoral battle. The counting will take place on August 28.

The Bawana seat was vacated after AAP MLA Ved Prakash had resigned to join the BJP.

Parrikar had represented the Panaji assembly seat in the Goa assembly till he was appointed Defence Minister in the Modi government.

Siddharth Kuncalienkar (BJP) had recently resigned from the Panaji seat to make way for Parrikar's election as MLA.

The bypoll to Valpoi seat in Goa was necessitated after sitting Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane had resigned to join the BJP.  The by-poll to the Nandyal seat is taking place as the sitting MLA from TDP had passed away following a cardiac arrest.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp