Goa CM Manohar Parrikar allocates portfolios to nine ministers

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar today distributed portfolios among nine ministers, keeping crucial ones like Home for himself.

Published: 20th March 2017 07:51 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th March 2017 07:51 PM   |  A+A-

Goa CM Manohar Parrikar (File | PTI)


PANAJI: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar today distributed portfolios among nine ministers, keeping crucial ones like Home for himself.

The exercise is done ahead of the presentation of state budget on March 24, and four days after Parrikar won the Supreme Court-mandated floor test in the Legislative Assembly.

While Parrikar has retained majority of portfolios including crucial ones like Home, Finance, and Education, he has allotted one each to nine ministers.

Former deputy Chief Minister and BJP leader Francis D'Souza was given Urban Development portfolio while his party colleague Pandurang Madkaikar is assigned the charge of Power department.

Among the BJP's allies, the Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP) MLA Sudin Dhavalikar was given the charge of the Public Works Department, which he had headed in the previous BJP government headed by Laxmikant Parsekar.

Another MGP leader Manohar Asgaonkar will be the Minister of Tourism in the new set of things.

All three MLAs of another BJP ally, the Goa Forward Party (GFP) were also allotted ministries.

While GFP MLA Vijai Sardesai was allotted Town and Country Planning, his party colleagues Jayesh Salgaoncar and Vinod Palyekar will head the ministries of Housing and Water Resources, respectively.

Three of the two Independent MLAs, namely Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade, are given the charge of departments of Revenue and the Art and Culture, respectively.

Three MLAs each of the MGP and the GFP, besides three Independents are supporting the BJP-led coalition government, while NCP's Churchill Alemao is supporting from outside.

The Parrikar-led government was sworn in on March 14, two days after the BJP staked claim to form government in the coastal state despite having ended up second after Congress in Assembly polls.

The BJP has 13 MLAs as against 17 of the Congress in the 40-member House.

The Parrikar government proved its majority on the floor of the House on March 16 by winning the trust vote with the support of 22 legislators.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp