Mehbooba’s brother, Jammu and Kashmir Congress chief file nominations for bypolls to Anantnag Lok Sabha seat

Four candidates have filed nomination papers for bypolls to Anantnag-Pulwama Lok Sabha seat.

Published: 22nd March 2017 11:22 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd March 2017 11:22 PM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

SRINAGAR: Tasaduq Hussain, cinematographer brother of J&K Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti and state Congress president Ghulam Ahmad Mir were among four candidates to file nomination papers for bypolls to Anantnag-Pulwama Lok Sabha seat on Wednesday.

Tasaduq filed the nomination papers before Deputy Commissioner Anantnag, who is Returning Officer for the Anantnag Parliamentary seat.

He was accompanied by senior PDP leader and MP Muzaffar Hussain Baig, Minister for Revenue and Rehabilitation Abdul Rehman Veeri, PDP vice president Sartaj Madni and other party leaders.

After filing nomination papers, Tasaduq told reporters that he was ready for the electoral battle.

It is Tasaduq’s maiden electoral battle. He joined the active politics and PDP on January 7 this year.

He, however, said the real challenge for him will begin once the elections are over.  "It would be a challenge for me to address the aspirations and expectations of the people”.

While kick-starting his election campaign Tasaduq had urged party workers not to risk their lives to ensure his safety.

State Congress chief G A Mir, who is the candidate of National Conference-Congress combine, also filed the nomination papers from the seat.

He was accompanied by former J&K Chief Minister and NC working president Omar Abdullah, senior Congress leader Ambika Soni, Congress leader and former MP from Srinagar Tariq Hameed Karra.

While addressing a gathering of his supporters after filing the nomination paper, Mir said people of Kashmir were disillusioned with PDP led coalition government.

“People are wise enough to understand that PDP has not fulfilled the promises made by it before coming to power,” he said.

Speaking on the occasion, Omar described PDP a party of broken promises and urged people to vote out the PDP.

“The PDP generated euphoria over compensation and flood relief but once coming into power they left the victims to fend for themselves,” he said adding, “Instead of enhancing relief, PDP found it more convenient to increase the number of pellets and bullets to target Kashmiris”.

An official said apart from Tasaduq and Mir, two more candidates  Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Samajwadi Party and Rakesh Koul, an independent candidate, also filed their nomination papers today.

The bypolls to Anantnag-Pulwama parliamentary seat were necessitated after Mehbooba Mufti, who had won 2014 Lok Sabha election from the seat, became chief minister of the State on April 4 last year and resigned from the seat.

The election to the seat will be held on April 12 and separatists have called for boll boycott.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp