Uttar Pradesh gears up for another electoral battle on April 26 in form of Council poll

Of the 13 seats falling vacant, seven belong to the SP, two each to BJP and BSP and one to RLD.

Published: 03rd April 2018 07:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd April 2018 07:17 PM   |  A+A-

A file photo of Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha in Lucknow . (File | PTI)

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: Just 10 days after the fierce battle for Rajya Sabha, Election Commission of India announced the dates for 13 UP Council seats falling vacant on May 5, the voting for which will take place on April 26. The commission will notify the Council elections on April 9 and the last date of filing nomination will be April 16.

Of the 13 seats falling vacant, seven belong to the SP, two each to BJP and BSP and one to RLD. Prominent among those retiring from the upper house of state legislature include SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, Minority Affairs minister Mohsin Raza and Rural Development Minister Mahendra Singh.

Given the strength of UP assembly -402 –each candidate will require 29 votes to secure a place in Council. While BJP-led NDA has 324 of 402 MLAs, SP has just 46 MLAs with Nitin Agarwal having defected to BJP camp. With this arithmetic, the fate of 12 seats is pre-decided as the BJP can win 11 seats comfortable with five votes to spare. The SP, with 46 MLAs on the other hand, can comfortably win one seat with 17 votes to spare.

Again one seat – 13th--will be left open for the fight for which SP and BSP can come together to field a joint candidate. The BSP, which has 18 MLAs (as its MLA Anil Singh had cross-voted in BJP’s favour in RS polls) cannot win a single seat on its own.

As SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, after failing to fulfil RS commitment to ally BSP, had promised the blue brigade of reciprocating Gorakhpur and Phulpur support in Council elections by ensuring victory of one BSP candidate on 13th seat, BSP may field Bhimrao Ambedkar yet again for council after he lost to BJP nominee in Rajya Sabha polls last month.

Ambedkar is likely to get the support of 7 Congress MLAs and 17 spare SP MLAs to sail through comfortably.

As per the current configuration of UP Council, Samajwadi Party enjoys a majority with 61 of 100 members. However, on May 5 their number will be reduced by seven to 54 and BSP, which has nine members at the moment, will come down to seven with the retirement of two of its members.

The ruling BJP which has 13 legislators in the upper house, including Chief minister Adityanath Yogi and the two deputy CMs -- Keshav Maurya and Dinesh Sharma -- will come down to 11 after the retirement of Raza and Dr Mahendra Singh. But the party will be able to give a jack of 11 seats taking its tally to 22.

The RLD, which had just one MLA in the assembly and he was also expelled from the party after he cross-voted for BJP candidate in Rajya Sabha polls,  will be wiped out completely from the upper house with the retirement of its lone MLC Chaudhary Mushtaq.

However, under the given scenario, if BJP fields a candidate over and above 11 which it can win comfortably, it would be left with just five spare votes and would require the support of 24 MLAs. So the party may not go for another tussle and let all the candidates to get elected unopposed.

Existing tally in Vidhan Parishad:

  • SP: 61

  • BSP: 9

  • BJP: 13

  • Congress: 2

  • RLD: 1

Seats falling vacant on May 5: 13

  • SP: 7

  • BSP: 2

  • BJP: 2

  • RLD: 1

Important people retiring:

  • SP chief Akhilesh Yadav

  • SP chief spokesperson, Rajendra Chaudhary

  • Minority affairs minister Mohsin Raza

  • Rural development minister Mahendra Singh

  • Each candidate will need at least 29 votes

Scenario in the forthcoming Council elections:

  • BJP can win 11 seats

  • SP can win one seat

  • SP and BSP combine can win one seat


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp