Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Congress maintains lead in Mungaoli, Kolaras 

BJP's Baisahab Yadav was leading by 265 votes in Mungaoli while in Kolaras, the Congress candidate, Mahendra Singh Yadav, was ahead of his rivals by a margin of 514 ballots.

Published: 28th February 2018 10:36 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th February 2018 03:52 PM   |  A+A-

Image for representational purpose (File | EPS)


BHOPAL: Congress candidates maintained leads in both the Assembly seats of Madhya Pradesh where by-elections were held last week, an official said.

In Kolaras constituency, Congress candidate Mahendra Singh Yadav maintained his lead, established in the first round.

He was ahead by 3,425 votes after the end of the tenth round of counting, an election official said.

In Mungaoli, Congress' Brijendra Singh Yadav was leading over his rival BJP candidate by 5,244 votes after the completion of 11th round of counting.

A total of 23 rounds of counting will take place in Kolaras while in Mungaoli, the fate of the contestants would be finally known after 19 rounds, the official said.

The postal ballots were counted first, he said.

The outcome of the two by-polls, held on February 24, are being seen as a possible pointer to the mood of people ahead of the Assembly elections due later this year in the BJP-ruled state.

The by-polls were necessitated due to the death of Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli in Ashoknagar district) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras in Shivpuri district).

A total of 13 candidates are in the fray in Mungaoli while 22 candidates are contesting in Kolaras.

The BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp