Legislative Council polls: BJP set to become single largest party in Council

Of the 11 members whose term will end on July 27, four are from the NCP, three from the Congress, two of the BJP and one each from the Shiv Sena and the Peasants and Workers Party of India.

Published: 30th June 2018 09:50 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th June 2018 11:23 AM   |  A+A-

Uddhav Thackeray (right) and Devendra Fadnavis (left). | File Photo


MUMBAI: The ruling BJP is set to become the single largest party in the Maharashtra Legislative Council after the biennial elections to eleven seats in the Upper House of the state legislature on July 16.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had last week announced election to the 11 EMLA (Elected by MLAs) constituency seats.

Of the 11 members whose term will end on July 27, four are from the NCP, three from the Congress, two of the BJP and one each from the Shiv Sena and the Peasants and Workers Party of India (PWP).

Considering their strength in the Legislative Assembly, the BJP can comfortably win five seats, the Shiv Sena three, while Congress-NCP can safely win one seat each and can also help sitting PWP MLC Jayant Patil to retain his seat.

The current party-wise strength in the 78 member legislative council is as follows: NCP 20, Congress 18, BJP 20, Sena 11, JD-U 1, PWP-I 1, PRP 1, Independents 6.

The 11 members whose term ends on July 27 are: Council Deputy Chairman Manikrao Thakare, Sanjay Dutt and Sharad Ranpise (all Congress), Sunil Tatkare, Jaideorao Gaikwad, Narendra Patil and Amarsing Pandit (NCP), Vijay Girkar and Minister for Dairy Development Mahadev Jankar (BJP), Anil Parab (Shiv Sena) and Jayant Patil (PWP).

Polling will be held on July 16, while counting of votes and results will be declared in the evening on the same day. The electoral college for the 11 EMLA constituency seats are the 289 members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Since the elections are to be held for 11 seats, the quota required by contesting candidates to win is 25 votes.

The current party-wise strength in the 289 member Legislative Assembly is- BJP 122, Sena 63, Congress 42, NCP 41, PWP 3, BVA 3, MIM 2, MNS 1, SP 1, BBM 1, CPI-M 1, RSP 1, Independents 7 and Nominated (Anglo-Indian) 1.

The BJP-Sena and its NDA allies together have a total vote share of about 134 votes, while the Congress-NCP and its allies have a vote share of about 92 votes.

In order to prevent cross-voting in this election held by secret ballot, the Congress and the NCP might prefer not to field more candidates than it can ensure the comfortable victory.

The opposition Congress-NCP, with its current numerical majority, has been controlling the proceedings in the Upper House.

Legislative Council Chairman Ramraje Naik-Nimbalkar belongs to the NCP, while Deputy Chairman Manikrao Thakare is from the Congress.

The Leader of Opposition in the Council, Dhananjay Munde, also belongs to the NCP.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp