All three BJP Rajya Sabha candidates from Rajasthan set to be elected unopposed

Dr Kirori Meena, Bhupender Yadav and Madan Lal Saini appear set to be elected unopposed as no other contestant has filed their nomination, an official said.

Published: 13th March 2018 03:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th March 2018 03:42 AM   |  A+A-

BJP flags used for representational purpose only.(Photo | PTI)


JAIPUR: All three BJP candidates for the Rajya Sabha biennial election, Dr Kirori Meena, Bhupender Yadav and Madan Lal Saini appear set to be elected unopposed as no other contestant has filed their nomination, an official said.

The last date for withdrawing nomination is March 15 when the BJP candidates will be declared elected unopposed, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly secretary Prithvi Raj said.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje said today she was confident that tribal leader and MLA Kirori Lal Meena's coming back to the BJP will be a step towards making the state Congress-free.

The chief minister said this outside the Rajasthan Assembly after Meena filed his nomination for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections.

Meena, who separated from the BJP in 2008, rejoined the party yesterday along with his two National Peoples Party (NPP) MLAs.

"Meena will walk shoulder-to-shoulder in making the state Congress-free", Raje said, adding that the BJP will form governments in the Centre and in Rajasthan.

The chief minister was accompanied by state BJP president Ashok Parnami when Meena filed his candidature.

"We will work for the Mission-180 seats in the Rajasthan Assembly elections slated this year-end," Meena said adding he would try to convince other BJP dissidents to join the party.

Like Meena, sitting Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav and veteran party leader Madan Lal Saini also filed three sets of nominations each as the BJP candidates from Rajasthan.

Returning officer Akhil Arora administered oath to the candidates after filing the nomination.

Opposition Congress had announced it would not field candidates for the biennial Rajya Sabha election.

The tenure of Yadav and two Congress MPs Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Narendra Budania is expiring on April 3.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp