Tripura Deputy CM wins Assembly by-election

 BJP nominee and Tripura Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Debbarma won the Charilam Assembly by-election on Thursday.

Published: 15th March 2018 04:10 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th March 2018 04:10 PM   |  A+A-


AGARTALA: BJP nominee and Tripura Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Debbarma won the Charilam Assembly by-election on Thursday, defeating CPI-M candidate by a record margin of 25,550 votes, official said.

With this, the number of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seats in the Assembly rose to 36 in the 60-member house while its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) has eight seats, taking their total strength to 44 -- more than two-thirds majority.

Elections were held in 59 constituencies on February 18.

Balloting in Charilam was deferred to March 12 after Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) nominee Ramendra Narayan Debbarma died on February 11 due to cardiac arrest.

Returning Officer Samit Roy Chowdhury said Debbarma wrested the seat from the CPI-M, securing 26,580 votes while CPI-M's rival Palash Debbarma got only 1,030 votes. The Congress candidate got 775 votes.

On the last day of campaigning on March 10, the CPI-M withdrew its candidate citing "extremely terrible situation" in the tribal-dominated Charilam area "due to massive reign of terror unleashed by the BJP-IPFT cadres".

The CPI-M has 16 seats in the Tripura assembly. 

Five years ago, the CPI-M-led Left front got 50 seats with the leading partner alone securing 49. The Congress bagged 10 seats.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp