Election Commission announces bypolls in four Assembly seats in four states

The seats are Badharghat (SC) in Tripura, Dantewada (ST) in Chhattisgarh, Pala in Kerala and Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Published: 26th August 2019 12:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th August 2019 12:42 AM   |  A+A-

Election Commission

For representational purposes (File Photo | EPS)


NEW DELHI: By-elections to four assembly constituencies in Tripura, Kerala, Chhattisgarh and Uttar Pradesh will be held on September 23, the Election Commission announced on Sunday.

The seats are Badharghat (SC) in Tripura, Dantewada (ST) in Chhattisgarh, Pala in Kerala and Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh.

The statutory notification for the bypolls would be issued on Wednesday and the last date of filling of nomination is September 4. Counting of votes will take place on September 27.

The model code of conduct comes into force with immediate effect in the districts in which the whole or any part of the assembly constituency going for election falls, the EC statement said.

The final electoral rolls published with reference to January 1 this year as the qualifying date would be used for the polls in the four assembly constituencies.

The by-election to Badharghat was necessitated following the death of sitting BJP legislator Dilip Sarkar. A former five-time Congress legislator, Sarkar, who joined BJP in 2017 along with seven other Congress MLAs, died on April 1 after prolonged illness.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp