Jharkhand results: Clean sweep for Mahagathbandhan, Soren to be next CM, says Tejashwi Yadav

JMM-Congress-RJD contested the Assembly polls together to take on the ruling BJP in the state.

Published: 23rd December 2019 12:33 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd December 2019 12:33 PM   |  A+A-

Tejashwi Yadav

RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav (File | PTI)


RANCHI: As counting is underway for 81 Assembly constituencies in Jharkhand, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav on Monday claimed that there will be a clean sweep for opposition grand alliance and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's Hemant Soren will become the chief minister of the state.

"There is going to be a clean sweep for Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) in this election. We have fought elections under the leadership of Hemant Soren. He is going to be the chief minister," Yadav told ANI here.

JMM-Congress-RJD contested the Assembly polls together to take on the ruling BJP in the state.

Targetting incumbent Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das, the RJD leader said: "The mood of people of Jharkhand is against the BJP government. During election campaigning, people were seen in anger as law and order is not in place and corruption is taking place. The state government has failed to give relief to people from poverty and unemployment."

Jharkhand Assembly polls LIVE | JMM-Congress heading towards majority mark

"This is why we were sure that we will win this election," he added.

JMM's Soren is trailing from Dumka Assembly constituency, while BJP's Louis Marandi is leading by over 6,000 votes, the Election Commission said.

However, Soren is leading from Barhait assembly constituency.

As per Election Commission's party-wise trends and results, BJP is leading on 27 seats, while the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is leading on 43.

Polling in Jharkhand was held in five phases from November 30 to December 20. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp