Maneka Gandhi, Radha Mohan Singh, Virender Kumar in contention for speaker's post

Eight-term MP Gandhi is the most experienced BJP lawmaker in Lok Sabha and is being seen as a natural choice for the speaker's post.

Published: 04th June 2019 01:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th June 2019 01:04 AM   |  A+A-

Parliament House, Indian Parliament

A view of Parliament House, in New Delhi on Tuesday, May 28, 2019. (Photo | Shekhar Yadav, EPS)


NEW DELHI: Several senior BJP parliamentarians, including former Union ministers Maneka Gandhi, Radha Mohan Singh and Virender Kumar, are in contention for the post of Lok Sabha speaker as the party top brass deliberates to finalise its choice, sources said Monday.

Former Union ministers Jual Oram and S S Ahluwalia are also among the probable candidates, they said.

Eight-term MP Gandhi is the most experienced BJP lawmaker in Lok Sabha and is being seen as a natural choice for the speaker's post.

She is also likely to be appointed as pro-tem speaker, being the senior most parliamentarian in the seventeenth Lok Sabha.

Singh, a six-term MP, has emerged as a strong contender for the job due to his deep roots in the organisation and image of an affable and gentle leader, the sources said.

Also a six-time MP, Kumar's Dalit identity might work in his favour, they added.

Ahluwalia was a minister of state for parliamentary affairs in the previous government and is known for his knowledge of legislative matters.

A section of BJP leaders is of the view that the leadership may spring a surprise with its choice for the post by appointing someone from southern India.

The sources said that the post of deputy speaker may go to the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) this time and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab is being considered for the post.

Mahtab was awarded as the best parliamentarian award for 2017.

In the sixteenth Lok Sabha, the post of deputy speaker was held by M Thambi Durai of the AIADMK.

The first session of the new Lok Sabha is scheduled to begin on June 17.

Election to the post of speaker will be held on June 19.

The BJP-led NDA nominee is set to be elected for the post as it has nearly two-thirds majority in the 542-member house.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp