PM Modi reconstitutes Niti Aayog; Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah named ex-officio members

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar will be ex-officio members of the policy think tank too.

Published: 06th June 2019 08:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 07th June 2019 10:06 AM   |  A+A-


PM Narendra Modi with Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and Sadananda Gowda during the first cabinet meeting at the Prime Minister s Office in South Block on 31 May 2019. (Photo | PTI)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi reconstituted the National Institution of Transforming India (NITI) Aayog and inducted cabinet ministers in it on Thursday. Rajiv Kumar will continue as Vice Chairman along with full-time members VK Saraswat, Ramesh Chand and VK Paul. A notable exclusion is economist Bibek Debroy.

Home minister Amit Shah, defence minister Rajanth Singh, finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman and agriculture minister Narendra Singh Tomar will be ex-officio members. This will apparently help the panel forge better ties with state and centre.

READ HERE | Government committed to take new reform initiatives: NITI Aayog

Transport minister Nitin Gadkari, commerce and industry and railway minister Piyush Goyal, social justice minister Thawar Chand Gehlot, and statistics minister Rao Inderjit Singh will be special invitees to the panel.

The council, the top body of NITI Aayog, includes chief ministers of all states, lieutenant governors of union territories, several union ministers and senior government officials. PM Modi will chair the fifth meeting of NITI Aayog’s Governing Council on June 15 to discuss a raft of issues.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp