Senior IPS officer Deven Bharti becomes Maharashtra ATS chief

The state home department issued orders of transfers of 19 officers of the ranks of Inspector General of Police (IGP) and Additional Director General of Police (ADG).

Published: 15th May 2019 09:40 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th May 2019 10:06 PM   |  A+A-

Deven Bharti

Deven Bharti (File |ANI)


MUMBAI: The Maharashtra government on Wednesday appointed senior IPS officer Deven Bharti as the chief of the Anti Terrorism Squad (ATS) of the state. Bharti, a 1994-batch officer, was currently posted as the Joint Commissioner of Police (JCP) Economic Offences Wing (EOW) of the Mumbai Police.

The state home department issued orders of transfers of 19 officers of the ranks of Inspector General of Police (IGP) and Additional Director General of Police (ADG). Current ATS chief Atulchandra Kulkarni was transferred as the ADG of Crime Investigation Department (CID), Pune.

Deven Bharti was earlier the Joint CP (Law and Order) for around four years, which is considered the longest term of any officer in Mumbai Police. He was shifted to the EOW on the directions of the Election Commission (EC).

Bharti has investigated several high-profile cases, including the 26/11 Mumbai attacks and murder of senior crime journalist J Dey. He is also known for his crackdown of terror outfit Indian Mujahideen. He was one of the officers, who supervised the entire investigation of 26/11 Mumbai terror attack. He also oversaw the operation leading to the death by hanging of Pakistani terrorist Ajmal Amir Kasab.

Ashutosh Dumbre, who was posted as the JCP (Crime), has been promoted as the ADG Anti Corruption Bureau (ACB). Sukhvinder Singh, who was posted as the IGP of Force One, was promoted on the same post.

Anup Kumar Singh, Vinit Agrawal, Sunil Ramanand, Pradnya Saravade and Sanjeev Singhal were promoted as the ADG. IPS officer Santosh Rastogi will now head the Crime Branch of Mumbai Police.

Krishna Prakash, who was posted as the IGP of State Intelligence Department (SID), was transferred as the JCP (Administration). Rajwardhan has been posted as JCP (EOW), whereas Amitesh Kumar will be new JCP of SID. Deepak Pandey has been posted as the IGP Prisons Department.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp