Lok Sabha results: Ten candidates who won by the slimmest of margins

There were at least eight constituencies where the ruling party's candidates won by relatively thin margins.

Published: 25th May 2019 06:38 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2019 06:38 PM   |  A+A-

BJP's Machhlishahr candidate Bholanath

By Online Desk

The BJP might have won a bigger mandate than in 2014. 

The stunner of a verdict was built on a mighty showing in Uttar Pradesh too, where it won 62 seats, just nine fewer than in 2014. This despite an SP-BSP alliance that had seemed formidable on paper. 

But there were at least eight constituencies where the ruling party's candidates won by relatively thin margins.

The closest of this was Machhlishahr in Uttar Pradesh, where BJP candidate Bholanath scraped through by a mere 181 votes. In 2014 the saffron party's Ram Charitra Nishad had clinched the seat with a margin of more than 1.72 lakh votes. 2019 though was nowhere near as emphatic.

Bholanath polled 488397 votes, while his nearest rival Tribhuvan Ram of the Bahujan Samaj Party ended up with 488216 votes.

The two island groups of Lakshadweep and Andaman also witnessed close fights. 

Among the nation's smallest constituencies, Lakshadweep saw National Congress Party's PP Mohammed Faizal emerge victorious by a margin of 823 votes. 

The bigger Andaman seat witnessed another tight fight. Here, the Congress's Kuldeep Rai Sharma won by just 1407 votes. 

There were nine other seats where the victory margin was under 10000 votes and one where the margin was a little over 10000 seats.

The BJP won eight of these close-run affairs. 

Interestingly, it could well have been nine for them if the result in the Arambagh constituency in West Bengal could have gone their way. Here, the Trinamool Congress' 33-year-old sitting MP Aparupa Poddar managed to scrape through by 1142 votes against Tapan Kumar Ray of the BJP.

The other winner in this list was Imtiyaz Jaleel of the All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen, who won by a margin of 1142 votes over Chandrakant Khaire from Maharashtra's Aurangabad seat. It was one of the two seats that the party won in Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Atul

    8 months ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp