Not part of Grand Alliance, Congress helped BJP win 10 UP seats in Lok Sabha elections 2019

In Banda again, Shyama Charan Gupta of SP secured 4,18,988 and lost by a margin of 58,553 to BJP’s RK Singh Patel who got 4,77,926 votes.

Published: 27th May 2019 04:18 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th May 2019 09:40 AM   |  A+A-


Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi and party leader Rajeev Shukla wear dejected looks after their defeat in the Lok Sabha elections on 23 May 2019, at AICC headquarters in New Delhi. (Photo | PTI)

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: After the BJP’s stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha polls, the Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati may be repenting their decision to keep the Congress outside their alliance.

EC data indicates that had the Congress been a part of the gathbandhan in Uttar Pradesh, the alliance would have been stronger and the repercussion seen on 10 seats.

Though the overall percentage of alliance (38.62%) and Congress (6.3%) put together accounts for 44.92% against BJP’s total vote share of 49.56%, but in seats such as Barabanki, Badaun, Banda, Basti, Dhaurahra, Meerut, Sultanpur, Sant Kabir Nagar, Machhlishahr and Firozabad the combined alliance and Congress votes are higher than BJP. In Firozabad, Shivpal Yadav’s Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party–Lohia played the spoilsport for SP.

On the above seats, the Congress did play the part of a vote splitter giving the BJP a boost. In fact, Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi had created a flutter, claiming that she had fielded such candidates who may not win but would dent BJP’s prospects and benefit the alliance.

In Barabanki, SP candidate Ram Sagar Rawat lost to the BJP candidate Upendra Singh Rawat by 1,10,140 votes, while Congress candidate and senior leader PL Punia’s son Tanuj got 1,59,611 votes. Punia is the son of Congress leader PL Punia, who lost the seat in 2014.

If Punia’s vote share was added to SP’s Ram Sagar Rawat’s 4,25,77, BJP’s Upendra Rawat would have fallen short by over 49,000 votes. In Badaun, while SP candidate Dharmendra Yadav polled 4,92,898 votes against BJP’s Sangh Mitra Maurya, who got 5,11,352 votes, Congress candidate Salim Iqbal Sherwani’s 51,947 votes would have been enough for an alliance candidate to sail through. Congress split the Muslims here.

In Banda again, Shyama Charan Gupta of SP secured 4,18,988 and lost by a margin of 58,553 to BJP’s RK Singh Patel who got 4,77,926 votes. However, Congress candidate Bal Kumar Patel got 75, 438 votes, which, if added to Gupta’s share, would have made him a winner by 16,500 votes.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp