Five Manipur MLAs who resigned from Congress after trust vote join BJP in Delhi

Welcoming them in the party, BJP general secretary and the party's pointsman for the northeast Ram Madhav said there is no threat to the Biren Singh government in Manipur now.

Published: 19th August 2020 06:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th August 2020 09:09 AM   |  A+A-

The BJP-led government had won the Monday trust vote 28-16. (Photo | PTI)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI:  Five former MLAs from Manipur, who recently resigned from the Congress, joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at the party office in Delhi on Wednesday. After the induction, BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav said there is no threat to the N Biren Singh government in the state. The five MLAs, which included Henry Okram, nephew of the former CM Ibobi Singh, had earlier resigned from the Congress. 

Oinam Lukhoi Singh, Panonam Broken, Ginsuanhau Zou, and Ngamthang Haokip were the other four who joined the BJP. The five MLAs were later welcomed in the BJP by party chief J P Nadda. The five MLAs had defied the whip issued by the Congress for the no confidence motion against the BJP led government, which was defeated with only 16 legislators supporting the motion. Speaking to reporters, Madhav, who looks after the BJP’s affairs in the Northeast, said that the incumbent government will complete the full term. ens


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp