Five-time MLA Bansidhar Bhagat elected as Uttarakhand BJP chief

Five-time MLA Bhagat (68) holds long experience and the party hopes that he will be able to get the party through 2022 state assembly elections. 

Published: 16th January 2020 05:05 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th January 2020 07:34 PM   |  A+A-

Bansidhar Bhagat, MLA from Kaladhungi

Bansidhar Bhagat, MLA from Kaladhungi (Photo | Twitter)

Express News Service

DEHRADUN: Uttarakhand Bhartiya Janta Party got state president on Thursday as a former cabinet minister and MLA from Kaladhungi assembly seat, Bansidhar Bhagat was elected for the post unopposed. 

Five-time MLA Bhagat (68) holds long experience and the party hopes that he will be able to get the party through 2022 state assembly elections. 

"My aim will be to strengthen the party and plan for 2022 assembly elections with help of the dedicated party workers and leaders of the party," said Bhagat after getting elected. 

Incumbent state BJP president Ajay Bhatt has opted out of the race and has informed the party that he would like to work as a member of Parliament in his constituency, Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar. 

Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Union Human Resources Development Minister after Bhagat's unopposed election said, "I congratulate Bhagat ji and all BJP workers that we have got such a leader in Uttarakhand to lead us with his exceptional leadership skills."

Bhagat has been with the party since 1975 when it was known as the 'Janasangh'. He became the party member in the year 1980 when BJP came into existence.

Bhagat rose to prominence by raising farmers issues in Nainital district and was promoted to Nainital BJP president.

In 1991, he was elected as MLA for the first time in the undivided state of Uttar Pradesh.  He was given the charge of state minister for forest and was later promoted to cabinet in the year 1993.

In 1996, he became a minister in UP government and cabinet minister 2000 when Uttarakhand state was formed after UP's bifurcation.

Bhagat was also given the post of a cabinet minister in the year 2007 when Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank became chief minister of Uttarakhand.

He won state assembly elections for the fifth time in the year 2017 when BJP swept the hill state with 57 seats out of 70 in Uttarakhand.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp