With NDA candidate in fray, BJP MLA skips voting for RS seat in Mizoram

Buddha Dhan Chakma abstained from voting because the saffron party did not have a candidate, according to state BJP president Vanlalhmuaka.

Published: 19th June 2020 06:58 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th June 2020 06:58 PM   |  A+A-

voting, vote, elections

Image used for representational purpose (File Photo)


AIZAWL: The lone BJP MLA in Mizoram on Friday did not vote in the elections for the single Rajya Sabha seat in which NDA ally MNF is locked in a triangular fight, prompting Chief Minister Zoramthanga to say that ties are issue-based and his party has the right to say "yes or no" on emerging matters.

Buddha Dhan Chakma abstained from voting because the saffron party did not have a candidate, according to state BJP president Vanlalhmuaka.

Though an ally of the NDA at the Centre, the ruling Mizoram National Front (MNF) does not work with the BJP in Mizoram.

Speaking to reporters after casting his vote at the assembly secretariat here, Zoramthanga said MNF is not under any political party when it comes to issues that are against the interest of the people of the state.

"The MNF at present is an NDA ally but that is solely issue-based. We don't come under any party when it is about issues harmful for Mizoram. We have our own constitution as well as guidelines and we have the right to say 'yes or no' based on issues," he said.

The three-time chief minister said that his party has fought the Lok Sabha polls as an NDA ally last year, giving utmost importance to interests of the state.

"We are fighting the Rajya Sabha polls on the same agenda as Lok Sabha polls. Our candidate will sit in the NDA bench if he is elected," he said.

All the legislators barring the one from the BJP cast their votes during the three-hour-long polling which began at 9 am.

The legislators, wearing masks, maintained social distancing norms while queuing up for voting and also underwent thermal scanning as part of COVID-19 protocols.

The state is witnessing a triangular contest for the only seat of the upper house of Parliament.

The MNF has fielded the party's national core committee member K Kanlalvena as its candidate while the Zoram People's Movement and the Congress nominated B Lalchhanzova and Lallianchhunga respectively.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp