Madhya Pradesh political crisis: Manoj Choudhary becomes 22nd MLA to resign from Congress

The 22nd MLA to resign is Manoj Choudhary from Hatpipalya (Dewas district). Like others who have resigned, he too is a supporter of Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Published: 10th March 2020 06:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th March 2020 06:24 PM   |  A+A-

Madhya Pradesh MLA Manoj Choudhary

Madhya Pradesh MLA Manoj Choudhary (Photo | Twitter)


BHOPAL: The number of Congress MLAs who have resigned from the Madhya Pradesh Assembly rose to 22 on Tuesday afternoon with the resignation of one more legislator, sources said.

MLA from Hatpipalya (Dewas district) Manoj Choudhary has resigned, they said.

Like others who have resigned, he too is a supporter of Jyotiraditya Scindia.

ALSO READ: Jyotiraditya Scindia set to join BJP, likely to get Central Ministry

In a major setback to the Congress, Scindia, one of its senior leaders, resigned from the party, saying it was time for him to move on.

Besides Choudhary, others who have resigned so far include ministers Tulsi Silawat, Govind Singh Rajput, Dr Prabhuram Choudhry, Imarti Devi, Pradyumna Singh Tomar and Mahendra Singh Sisodia, and MLAs Hardeep Singh Dang, Rajyavardhan Singh, Brajendra Singh Yadav, Jaspal Jajji, Suresh Dhakad, Jaswant Jatav, Raksha Santram Sironia, Munnalal Goyal, Ranveer Singh Jatav, OPS Bhadoria, Kamlesh Jatav, Giriraj Dandotiya, Raghuraj Kansana, Aidalsingh Kansana and Biasahulal Singh.

Several office-bearers of state and district units of Congress who owe allegiance to Scindia have also resigned from the party.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp