Poll results decoded: Owaisi’s party did not eat into Mahagathbandhan votes in Bihar

The party, which contested the Bihar polls in alliance with the BSP and the Upendra Kushwaha-led RLSP, was accused of being the B-team of the BJP.

Published: 12th November 2020 02:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th November 2020 09:06 AM   |  A+A-

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi (Photo | Vinay Madapu, EPS)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: Despite the All India Masjid-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) winning five seats in the Bihar elections, the number of winning candidates from the community has come down by five. While 2015 saw the election of 24 Muslim candidates, 2020 gave the Bihar Assembly only 19. 

In terms of parties, the RJD had the highest number of Muslim MLAs with eight, followed by the AIMIM with five.

The Congress had four Muslim legislators while the Communist Party of India- Marxist Leninist (CPI-ML) had one. Even the BSP lone MLA is Muslim.

Interestingly, contrary to popular opinion, the AIMIM has not cut into the votes of the Mahagathbandhan.

The Asaduddin Owaisi-led party, which contested the Bihar polls in alliance with the BSP and the Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), was accused of being the B-team of the BJP.

In the 20 seats that the AIMIM has contested, it won five. In the remaining 15 seats, the party has not garnered so many votes so as to be proven as detrimental for the RJD or the Congress.

In all the 15 seats, the combine of the runner up and MIM vote share was not larger than the winner’s showing that even if they had contested in alliance, the results of the constituencies would not have differed.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • a.k.sehanobis

    Even if he cut the votes of Mahagatbandhan
    1 year ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp