Bihar cabinet expansion: Caste balancing act among 17 inductees

However, the Rajputs have got the highest preference – four. They are: Lesi Singh, Neeraj Kumar Babloo, Sumit K Singh and Subhash Singh.

Published: 10th February 2021 08:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th February 2021 08:44 AM   |  A+A-

Shahnawaz Hussain & Bihar Governor Fagu Chauhan at swearing-in ceremony| pti

Express News Service

PATNA:  Putting an end to speculation, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar expanded his cabinet by inducting 17 new ministers in what is being seen as a meticulous manner to keep caste equations balanced. Significantly, there is no Yadav or Bhumihar representation in the new set of ministers. However, the Rajputs have got the highest preference – four. They are: Lesi Singh, Neeraj Kumar Babloo, Sumit K Singh and Subhash Singh.

Out of the 17 new ministers, 11 are first-timers and young ministers out of the BJP and the JD-U quota such as Independent MLA from Jamui’s Chakai seat Sumit K Singh and Md. Zama Khan, former BSP MLA from Kaimur’s Chainpur and others. The 11 new inductees in the cabinet are Shahnawaz Hussain, Janak Ram (former BJP MP),

Mohammed Zama Khan (formerly in BSP now in JD-U), Alok Ranjan Jha (BJP), Jayant Raj (JD-U from Amarpur), Neeraj Kumar Bablu (BJP), Subhash Singh (BJP MLA, Gopalganj), four-time BJP MLA Nitin Naveen, Sumit Kumar Singh (Independent), Sunil Kumar (JD-U & former IPS officer) and Narayan Prasad( BJP).

The number of ministers has now gone up to 31. Apart from the first-time ministers, many experienced leaders such as Shravan Kumar have become ministers for a third time. Madan Sahni, Pramod Kumar, Lesi Singh and Sanjay K Jha are second-time ministers. Samrat Chaudhary is for the third minister now.

What is interesting in the cabinet expansion is that the JD-U and BJP have tried their best to strike a balance in the caste equations. So, the BJP brought in Hussain, the party’s influential minority face, through the Legislative Council and to induct him in the cabinet. The JD-U inducted former BSP leader Zama Khan, who had joined the JD-U recently.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp