AAP opens account in Mahrashtra as party candidates win Gram Panchayat election in Latur district

The counting of votes for over 12,000 Gram Panchayats, which went to polls on Friday, was held on Monday.

Published: 19th January 2021 12:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th January 2021 12:52 AM   |  A+A-

AAP Logo

Representational Image. (Photo | PTI)


LATUR: A panel of candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday won the Gram Panchayat election in Dapkyal village in Latur district, probably its maiden foray into Maharashtra hinterland.

The counting of votes for over 12,000 Gram Panchayats, which went to polls on Friday, was held on Monday.

Though the village panchayat elections are not fought on party symbols, panels are fielded by political parties or local leaders.

In Latur district, polling was held for 383 Gram Panchayats, officials said.

Out of seven candidates, five candidates of the 'Sampurn Nirmal Pariwartan Aam Aadmi' panel, who are workers of the AAP, have won.

AAP national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal hailed the electoral victory by posting a tweet in Marathi.

"Congratulations to the winners! Realize the trust placed in you by the people, serve the people. Best wishes for the future," tweeted Kejriwal.

The winning candidates are Urmila Bhosale, Santosh Kasale, Pooja Patil, Kalimun Shaikh and Shankar Kamble.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp