SP Balasubramaniam, Shinzo Abe among seven Padma Vibhushan awardees, here is full list

Former Prime Minister of Japan Shinzo Abe, Singer S P Balasubramaniam (posthumously), Sand artist Sudarshan Sahoo, Archaeologist BB Lal awarded Padma Vibhushan among others.

Published: 25th January 2021 09:40 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th January 2021 10:10 PM   |  A+A-

Shri S P Balasubramaniam (L) and Shinzo Abe (R)

By Online Desk

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, have been announced on Monday night. 

​The list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, ten Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 

The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service. Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan around March/ April every year. 

Here is the full list of Padma Vibhushan awardees:

  • Shri Shinzo Abe- Public Affairs- Japan
  • Shri S P Balasubramaniam (Posthumous)- Art- Tamil Nadu
  • Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde- Medicine- Karnataka
  • Shri Narinder Singh Kapany (Posthumous)- Science and Engineering- United States of America
  • Maulana Wahiduddin Khan- Others- Spiritualism- Delhi
  • Shri B. B. Lal- Others- Archaeology- Delhi
  • Shri Sudarshan Sahoo- Art- Odisha

Here is the full list of Padma Bhushan awardees:

  • Ms. Krishnan Nair Shantakumari Chithra-Art-Kerala
  • Shri Tarun Gogoi (Posthumous) -Public Affairs- Assam
  • Shri Chandrashekhar Kambara-Literature and Education-Karnataka
  • Ms. Sumitra Mahajan-Public Affairs-Madhya Pradesh
  • Shri Nripendra Misra-Civil Service-Uttar Pradesh
  • Shri Ram Vilas Paswan (Posthumous)-Public Affairs-Bihar
  • Shri Keshubhai Patel (Posthumous)-Public Affairs-Gujarat
  • Shri Kalbe Sadiq (Posthumous)-Others-Spiritualism-Uttar Pradesh
  • Shri Rajnikant Devidas Shroff-Trade and Industry-Maharashtra
  • Shri Tarlochan Singh-Public Affairs-Haryana

Here is the full list of Padma Shri awardees:

(Inputs from Press Information Bureau)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp