Uttar Pradesh polls: Fighting from jail, Samajwadi Party's Azam Khan and Nahid Hasan win their seats

Khan, a former Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister, registered victory from Rampur seat and Nahid Hasan logged his third assembly poll win from Kairana.

Published: 11th March 2022 07:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th March 2022 07:29 PM   |  A+A-

Senior Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan

Senior Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan (Photo | PTI)


NOIDA: Samajwadi Party's Azam Khan and Nahid Hasan, both of whom contested the 2022 Uttar Pradesh assembly elections while being jailed, have won from their respective seats, official results showed.

Khan, a former Uttar Pradesh cabinet minister and nine-term MLA, registered victory against nearest rival Akash Saxena (Honey) of the BJP from Rampur seat by a margin of over 55,000 votes, the Election Commission website showed.

Khan got 1.31 lakh (or 59.71 per cent) of the total votes counted while Saxena polled 76,084 (or 34.62 per cent) votes, according to the EC. He is currently lodged in the Sitapur jail over multiple charges including theft, criminal intimidation and land encroachment.

Total nine candidates were in the fray from Rampur assembly seat in the 2022 state polls. In Shamli district's Kairana, the SP's Nahid Hasan logged his third assembly poll win after he defeated the BJP's Mriganka Singh by over 25,000 votes, the EC website showed.

Hasan got 1.31 lakh (or 54.16 per cent) votes against Singh's 1.05 lakh (or 43.46 per cent) votes in the seat that had eight contenders in fray, it showed. Hasan was arrested on January 16 this year in connection with a 2021 case at the Kairana Kotwali under the UP Gangsters and Anti-Social Activities (Prevention) Act and has been in jail since then.

The BJP has retained power in Uttar Pradesh after the 2022 assembly polls, winning a majority of the 403 seats in the state and is set to continue with its Yogi Adityanath-led government once again.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp