MLC elections: Congress defeats BJP in Gadkari's home turf Nagpur

Out of a total of five teacher and graduate constituencies; BJP won only one in the Konkan region seat on Thursday. 

Published: 03rd February 2023 06:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd February 2023 05:42 PM   |  A+A-


MVA's candidate Sudhakar Adbale flashes the victory sign after winning from Nagpur teachers' seat in the Maharashtra Legislative Council elections. (Photo | PTI)

Express News Service

MUMBAI:  In a surprise result, the BJP has lost the MLC elections to the Opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in its home turf Nagpur and other constituencies in Maharashtra. Congress candidate Sudhakar Anabole won the Nagpur Teachers Constituency by defeating BJP-supported RSS-affiliated teachers organization candidate Nago Ganar.

“This is a big victory for the Congress party for the first time in the last 56 years in Nagpur where RSS headquarter is located. Nagpur is the home town of union minister Nitin Gadkari, deputy chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and Maharashtra BJP president Chandrashekar Bawankule. Therefore, this victory of Congress against BJP has a lot more meaning,” said Ashish Dua, Congress organizational general secretary.

 Maharashtra Congress President Nana Patole offers sweets to party leader Prithviraj Chavan. (Photo | PTI)

Out of a total of five teacher and graduate constituencies; BJP won only one in the Konkan region seat on Thursday. 

The old pension scheme has played a major role in the defeat of the BJP.

“The teachers and graduates have flatly rejected the BJP. We are confident that in upcoming elections also, Maha Vikas Aghdi will win the elections,” NCP leader Ajit Pawar said.

The MVA 'auto-rickshaw' alliance of Congress-Nationalist Congress Party-Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) won three seats --- the Nagpur Teachers Constituency, the Aurangabad Teachers Constituency, and the Amravati Graduates Constituency. 

Voting for these five Council seats - three teachers segments (falling in Nagpur, Konkan and Aurangabad divisions) and two graduates constituencies (Nashik and Amravati divisions) - was held on January 30 and counting began on Thursday morning. Teachers and graduates fulfilling certain criteria and enrolled as voters formed the electoral college for these elections.


BJP's Dnyaneshwar Mhatre won the Konkan seat

Nagpur: Congress-MVA's Sudhakar Adbale of Vidarbha Madhyamik Shikshak Sangh beat BJP-supported Independent and sitting MLC Nago Ganar

Konkan Teachers Constituency: BJP's Dnyaneshwar Mhatre beat MVA-backed Peasants & Workers Party nominee Balaram Patil

Amravati: Congress-MVA candidate Dhiraj Lingade beat BJP's sitting MLC Ranjeet Patil

Aurangabad: NCP-MVA candidate and sitting MLC Vikram Kale defeated BJP's Kiran Patil

Nashik: Independent (a Congress rebel) Satyajeet Tambe won over Sena (UBT)-MVA candidate Shubhangi Patil

(With inputs from online desk)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp