Dominic Memorial edge Kovilpatti XI

Published: 07th July 2012 01:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 07th July 2012 01:47 PM   |  A+A-


The first Syed Ahmed Memorial All India Invitation Hockey tournament at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium got off to a thrilling start as Chennai-based Dominic Memorial edged Kovilpatti XI 6-5.

Kovilpatti scored as early as the fourth minute through Vinod, the first of his three goals. But parity was restored as Albert scored in the eleventh minute. But Kovilpatti retained lead in the 16th minute, courtesy Mahesh, and they enhanced their cushion as Vinod struck his second on the 30 minute. 

However, Dominic Memorial trimmed their deficit through Satish Kumar’s penalty corner goal in the 31st minute. Into the second half, Sunderesan scored twice in as many minutes to hand the initiative to Dominic Memorial. Satish Kumar netted a penalty corner to make it 5-3. Though Shivakumar’s 56th-minute goal offered hope for Kovilpatti, Albert netted the eventual winner in the 63rd minute. Results: Dominic Memorial 6 (Albert 11, 63, Satish Kumar 31, 53, Sunderesan 43, 44) bt Kovilpatti XI 5 (Vinod 4, 30, 67, Mahesh 16, Sivakumar 56); SAI 2 (Dileepan 16, 57) drew HUTN 2 (Kalairasan 30, Dinesh 64).

Lalaji Score

Lalaji Memorial Omega International School defeted Anjuman Hr. Sec. School, T.Nagar 2-0 in the Quarterfinals of the VIth Prabha Jaidev Memorial football tournament.

Results: Quarterfinals: Lalaji Memorial Omega International School 2 (Akula Sridhar, Sasikanth) bt Anjuman HSS, T.Nagar 0; St.Joseph’s International School, Sriperumbudur 1 (Siddharth) bt Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidyashram, Kilpauk 0; Don Bosco, Perambur 2 bt MCC HSS, Chetpet 1; Chettinad Vidyashram 3 (Sachin.S 2, Abhishek) bt PSSSS, Mylapore 0.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp