Chennai: Suresh bowls young stars to 8-wicket win against Indian Bank

Published: 08th July 2012 10:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th July 2012 10:08 AM   |  A+A-


M Suresh Babu’s 7 for 73 helped Young Stars beat Indian Bank by eight wickets in the first round of the First Division League of the TNCA at SRMC grounds on Saturday.

In another match, U Sushil’s unbeaten double century (205 n.o.) helped Globe Trotters spilt points with Jolly Rovers at Pachaiyappa’s College grounds.

Brief scores: At MAC: Aruna CC  211 and 171 for nine 72 overs (B Rahul 39, R Vivek 34, R Amith Singh 32 n.o., R Rohit 31, R Aushik Srinivas 4-34, A Aswin Crist 3-48) drew with Vijay CC 335 for 7 decl in 99 overs (KB Arun Karthick  115, R Rohith 39, M Kaushik Gandhi 29, S Sureshkumar 36, K Shri Vasudeva Das 80). Points: Vijay 5; Aruna 2.

At Pachaiyappa’s: India Pistons  502 for 9 decl drew with Globe Trotters SC 412 for 9 in 121 overs (U Sushil 205 n.o., Antony Dhas 54, Sunil Sam 34 n.o., AC Prathiban 4-127,  M Mohammed 3-90). Points: Globe Trotters 3; India Pistons 3.

At Murugappa: TI Cycles S & RC 357 and 57 for two in 12 overs drew with IOB Staff Club 383 in 119 overs (S Senthilkumar 40, MR Muthupandi 61, K Bharath Reddy 127, Atchuta Rao 100, S Karthikeyan 3-82).

Points:  IOB 5; TI Cycles 2.

At Viveka: UFCC (T Nagar) 271 and 206 for four decl in 66.4 overs (K Bharath Shankar 38, B Indrajith 74,  Adithya Ganesh 41, M Kamalesh 37 n.o.) drew with Alwarpet CC 191 in 58.4 overs. Points: UFCC 5; Alwarpet 2.

At IIT-Chemplast: Grand Slam CC 599 for 8 decl in 132 overs drew with Jolly Rovers CC 373 in 122.2 overs (Anand Subramanian 54, C Hemantkumar 129, J Gowjith Subash 88, M Raja 4-91, Vijay Shankar 3-35). Points: Grand Slam 5; Jolly Rovers 2.

At SRMC: Indian Bank S & RC 123 and 174 in 57.3 overs (T Selvaganapathy 34, D Mohsin Basha 35, M Suresh Babu 7-73) lost to Young Stars CC 215 and 83 for 2 in 21.1 overs (T Dushyanth 32, Malolan Rangarajan 36). Points: Young Stars 8; IB 0.

Ce, ICF post win

Heavyweights Central Excise and ICF posted impressive wins over minnows Tirunelveli and Nilgris District in the first Syed Ahmed Memorial All India Invitation Hockey Tournament at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium on Saturday. Central Excise hammered Tirunelveli Eleven 7-2 while ICF crushed Nilgris District 9-2 in their opening-round matches to substantiate their stakes.

Richards shines

Richards twin goals helped St. Joseph’s International School, Sriperumbudur beat Lalaji Memorial Omega International School, Kolapakkam 2-1 in the final of the VI Prabha Jaidev Memorial football tournament.

Results: Final: St. Joseph’s International School, Sriperumbudur 2 (Richards 2) bt Lalaji Memorial Omega International School, Kolapakkam 1 (Sasikanth). Semifinals: Lalaji Memorial Omega International School, Kolapakkam 4 bt Chettinad Vidyashram, RA Puram 1; St. Joseph’s International School, Sriperumbudur 3 bt Don Bosco, Perambur 1.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp