Chennai: Karan, Gautham star in Chinmaya Vidyalaya's win vs St John's

Published: 26th July 2012 08:19 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th July 2012 08:19 AM   |  A+A-


Karan Damani’s 3 for 6 and P Gautham’s 69 paved the way for Chinmaya Vidyalaya (Ch-10) to beat St.John’s SSS & Jr.College (Ch-28) by 73 runs in the TNCA–City Schools Coca Cola Under-16 cricket tournament for the C.Ramaswamy Trophy, played at  Areva T&D ‘A’ grounds.

Varun Shenoy’s hat-trick (3 for 21) went in vain as St John’s batsmen did not compliment his effort.

The tournament comprises 60 teams from the city. Matches until the quarterfinals will be played on a knock-out format, then the eight quarterfinalists will play in league format.  The matches in Chennai will be played at the Areva T&D ‘A’, Areva T&D ‘B’ and the Gandhi Nagar cricket grounds. The teams and players performing will stand a chance to win prizes at each stage post the quarterfinals round. The winners & runners-up of the Tamil Nadu leg will be awarded prizes worth `50,000 and `35,000 respectively.

Brief scores: At Areva T&D ‘A’: Chinmaya Vidyalaya (Ch-10) 184 in 25.2 overs (P Gautam 69, Devansh Daga 50, N Shreyans 4/22, Varun Shenoy 3/21) bt St.John’s SSS & Jr.College (Ch-28) 111 in 29 overs (Karan Damani 3/6).

Nellai Nadar MHSS (Ch-41) 293/9 in 30 overs (M Shaike Mohammed Ismail 54, R Sonu Kumar 49, M Manoj Seervi 32) bt Kaligi Ranganathan Monford MHSS (Ch-11) 60 in 16.3 overs (M Manoj Seervi 3/14).

Areva T&D ‘B’: Akshayah MHSS, Velachery (Ch-42) 14 in 10 overs (B Surya Prakash 4/8, Premal M Joshi 5/6) lost to Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidyashram (Ch-10) 16 for no loss in 1.5 overs.

Maharishi Vidya Mandir HSS (Ch-31) 169 in 28.4 overs (AR Sriram 58, AG Parveen Kumar 33) bt KC Sankaralinga Nadar HSS (Ch-21) 58 in 18.5 overs (R. Deepak 3/13, Karvannan 3/11).

Gandhi Nagar: Gill Adarsh MHSS ‘A’, Royapettah (Ch-14) 36 in 14.2 overs (P Ajith Kumar 3/3) lost to Santhome HSS ‘A’, Mylapore (Ch-4) 37 for no loss in 3.4 overs; St.George AIHSS (Ch-30) 40 in 15.2 overs (P Kishore Kumar 4/21, V Balaji 3/9) lost to Zion MHSS (Ch-73) 41/1 in 4.2 overs.

Prabhakaran cracks ton

A hard-hitting 108 runs off just 48 balls by K Venkatesa Prabhakaran (11x4, 2x6) enabled Nellai Nadar Matriculation Higher Secondary School to beat PS Matriculation Higher Secondary School by 67 runs in a Sacred Heart MHSS City School Under-17 T20 cricket tournament.

In the other match St. John’s International Residential School defeated Sethu Baskara Matric Hr. Sec. School by 89 runs.

Brief scores: Nellai Nadar MHS 226/7 in 20 overs (K Venkatesa Prabhakaran 108, R Ahillan 50 Prasana 4/48) bt PS Matric Hss 159 in 19.2 overs (Srinivasan 40, R Prasana 31).

St. John’s IRS 169 for 5 in 20 overs (Sivam Kislay 51, S Vivek 35, Md Riyaz 39 no.) bt Sethu Baskara MHSS 80 in 16.2 overs (Keerthivasan 29, John Gideon 3/21); Seethadevi HSS 114 in 15.4 overs (Viswesh 30, K Dhinesh 3/14) lost to Sacred Heart MHS (Sholinganallur) 119/2 in 30.3 overs (A Akash  44 no, K.Dinesh  33 no).

Income Tax move into Quarters

Income Tax, Chennai defeated Tirunelveli Distriict Hockey Association 2-1 to move into the quarterfinals of the RLSC’s 20th state-level hockey tournament for the Rajamani-Kanagamani Ammal Memorial Trophy in Madurai on Wednesday.

Sivamani gave the Taxmen the lead in the 40th minute which was equalised by Raja Perumal in the 48th min. Seven minutes from close Varma netted the match winner for Income Tax. Sivamani was adjudged man of the match. In another match, Tamil Nadu Police outplayed Sports Authority of India Chennai 3-1.

Q/F LINE UP: Indian Bank, Chennai Vs S Railway, Chennai; ICF, Chennai vs SZ Police, Madurai; IOB, Chennai vs Income Tax, Chennai; C Excise, Chennai vs Tamil Nadu Police, Chennai.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp