YSCA Annual day celebrated

Published: 01st November 2012 10:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st November 2012 10:40 AM   |  A+A-

The 56th Annual day celebrations of Young Star Cricket Academy was held on Tuesday.

The centenary year celebrations of late VN Madhava Rao, former Railway and State cricketer was also held. DV Sundar, vice-president, FIDE released a  souvenir brought out to mark the unique occasion,  lauded YSCA’s contribution in unearthing new talent.

PS Raman, vice-president TNCA appreciated the way YSCA trophy was conducted and praised the association for giving cricket training free of cost.

YSCA awards: Best batsman: M.Gopal;  VN Madhava Rao memorial Awards: D Manoj; TR Ananths memorial Shied for single wicket: R Ashok kumar.

Single wicket juniors: Winner: S.Daniel; Double wicket for seniors: P Sanjaykumar and R Prabhakaran. Double wicket for juniors: S Daniel and K. Mujamil.

TT tournament

Mahindra and Mahindra 8th state ranking table tennis tournament organised by Madras District Table Tennis Association will be held at SDAT-AKG, Hall of Table  Tennis, JN stadium from Nov 9 to 11.

Entries close on Nov 2, with J. Selvakumar, joint  secretary, TNTTA, Ph: 9444144482,  28256169.

Ethirajan Triumphs

R Ethirajan (Chennai main branch) beat S Venkataraman 11-1, 11-3, 11-6 in the final of the Central Bank of India annual table tennis tournament. He won this tournament for the 21st consecutive year. 

Results: Semifinals: R Ethirajan bt V Ramabhadran 11-5, 11-2, 11-4; S Venkataraman bt G Balasubramanian 11-7, 11-5, 11-8.

Doubles: Final: R Ethirajan/ V Stephen Charles bt S Venkataraman/ SRS Somasekar 11-3, 11-6.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp