Priyatosh stars in East Zone’s victory

Published: 24th November 2012 10:16 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th November 2012 10:16 AM   |  A+A-

Priyatosh Parmanik’s 71 helped East Zone U-19 team beat North Zone by 3 wickets in the inter-zonal one-dayers for U-19 players at Gurunanank College grounds. East wicketkeeper Wasiqur Rahman took 5 catches.

Brief scores

At MAC: West Zone U-19 224 for 7 in 50 overs (A Patel 52, J Pande 36, S Patel 35, A Dhumal 33 no, J Suchith 5/65) bt South Zone U-19 113 in 35 overs (KS Bharath 29, D Nischal 28, S Khan 5/32, D Hooda 3/14). Pts: WZ 5 (14);  SZ — 1 (4).

At IC-Guru Nanak: North Zone U-19 203 in 45 overs (P Sharma 48, S Sharma 39, A Banday 32, S Das 4/28) lost to East Zone U-19 204 for 7 in 48.1 overs (P Parmanik 71, Udiyan Bose 36, K Singh 28, Wasiqur Rahman 23 no, S Sharma 3/35). Pts: EZ 4 (8); NZ 0 (8).

Siva Shines

A Sivaramakrishnan’s 3 for 17 enabled Chinmya Vidyalaya defeated Montfort Academy by 67 runs in the TNCA–City Schools U-14 cricket tournament for B Somasundaram Trophy.

Brief scores

Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Taylors Road (Ch-10) 131 for 6 in 23 overs (LK Swaraj 32, R Praveen 40) bt Montfort Academy Mat School, Mylapore (Ch-4) 64 in 19.1 overs (A Sivaramakrishnan 3/17) Chettinad Vidyashram ‘A’, RA Puram (Ch-28) 113 for 7 in 30 overs bt The PSBB Millennium School (Ch-122) 64 in 22.3 overs (S Aakash 26, VK Jain 3/11).

Vijayakumar Fastest

M Vijayakumar clocked 10.7 seconds to emerge fastest in the All India Civil Services Athletic Meet at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. RSB’s V Hani was the fastest woman clocking 12.9s.

RSB Chennai and RSB Baroda won the overall trophy in the men’s and women’s category respectively.

Men (10000m): P Paul Pandy (RSB, Chennai) 35:25.6s, S Dharun (Chattisgarh) 35:52.2s, N Subramanian (RSB, Chennai) 37:49.6s; javelin: A Paten (Baroda) 67.61m, A Kumar (Bihar) 61.71m, T Vargese (Chennai) 58.64m; long jump: V Deepan Kumar (Chennai)  6.74m, Anish (RSB, Mumbai) 6.70m, B Singh (Orissa) 6.59m; pole vault: N Vadivelu (Chennai) 3.05m, MA Eldo (Chennai) 2.95m, K John Paul (RSB, Hyderabad) 2.95m; 4 X 400 relay: Baroda 3:33.8s, RSB Chennai 3:34.9s, Central Secretariat Delhi 3:42.7s; 800m: SB Ruthra (Baroda) 2:10.6s, S Dharma (Chennai) 2:12.7s, SS Sanjeev  (Kerala) 2:16.3s; 110m hurdles: T Saravanan (Chennai)15.2s, S Paemar (Mumbai) 15.4s, D Dutt (GNCT, Delhi) 16.7s; discus: RS Rathi (Central Secretariat Delhi) 44.75m, R Ramdoss (Chennai) 37.96m, Avinash (Mumbai) 37.36m; 400m men: A Prem Anand (Chennai) 50.3s, Hiralal (Central Secretariat, Delhi) 54.5s, S Paikara (Chhattisgarh) 54.8s: 100m: M Vijayakumar (Chennai) 10.7s, AL Ameen (Chennai) 10.8s, M Nishad (Lakshadweep) 11.0s; Women (100m hurdles): Y Hani (Chennai) 15.2s, D Patel (Baroda) 17.3s, Saranya C Chennai (17.7s); discus throw: S Devi (Baroda) 25.95m, M Sujatha (Kerala) 25.45m, H Sunitha (Andhra Pradesh) 22.87m, high jump: D Goyal (Mumbai) 1.45m, T Marian (Baroda) 1.45m, C Sharanya (Chennai) 1.40m; javelin: Solma Vohra (Baroda) 39.14m, Sharada Patel  (Maharashtra) 25.61m, Kumutha (Central Secretariat, Delhi) 25.43m; 400m: K Mirdula (Baroda) 1:05.8s, A Madhavan (Bangalore) 1:09.4s, K Sowmya (Karnataka) 1:11.1s, .

Overall Championship (Men): 1. RSB Chennai 126 points, 2. RSB Mumbai 56; Women: 1. RSB Baroda 74, 2. RSB Chennai 45.

Krishnan-Raj Win

S Krishnan and Raj Kanoi won with a score of 58.74 imps, playing East-West while C Mohanakrishna and P Narayan Iyer claimed honours in the North-South with a score of 58.48 IMPs in the Mylapore Club monthly bridge tournament.

Results (North-South): C Mohanakrishna & P Narayan Iyer, VN Ramamurthy & C Vijaykumar, Hariharan & Swaminathan, East-West: S. Krishnan and Raj Kanoi, Sampathkumar and S Kailasam, S Ganesan & CR Kumar.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp