Tanjore, Trichy, Madurai enter second round

Published: 28th November 2012 01:19 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th November 2012 01:19 PM   |  A+A-

Tanjore hammered Peram­b­ulur 6-0 and advanced to the second round of the Chief Minister’s Trophy football tournament at the Jawaharlal N­ehru Stadium on Tuesday. Trichy, Ma­durai and Dindigul also advanced, defeating Erode, Karur and Tiruvarur respectively.

In the women’s category, Chennai, Pu­dukottai, Trichy, Tiruvallur and Sa­l­em advanced to the second round.

Results: Men: Trichy bt Erode 2-0, Madurai bt Karur 3-0, Tanjore bt Perambulur 6-0, Dindigul bt Tiruvarur 4-0.

Women: Salem bt Tuticorn 6-0, Tiruvallur bt Vellore 11-0, Trichy bt Krishnagiri 5-0, Pudukottai bt Tirunelveli 3-0, Chennai bt Perambulur 7-0.    

All-round show by Srivatsan

All-round display by AB Srivatsan (3 for 24, 54 no) helped PSBB Junior sc­h­ool, T Nagar, beat Devi Academy Sr S­ec School by seven wickets in the TNCA–City schools U-14 cricket tournament for B Somasundaram Trop­hy.

Brief scores: Devi Academy Sr Sec School (Ch-87) 150-5 in 30 overs (N Venkata Krishna Prasad 58 no, V Rahul 42, AB Srivatsan 3-24) lost to PSBB Jr Sec School, T Nagar, 151-3 in 26.4 overs (S Abhishek 29, AB Srivatsan 54 no, S Arjun 25 no);

St Mary’s Mat Hr Sec School, Perambur (Ch-11) 140 in 29.3 overs (David Proudfoot 33, Arya Yohan Menon 3-35) bt Vaels International School, Injambakkam (Ch-115) 109 in 29.3 overs (Ashwin Ravishankar 28 no, Anirudh Pradeep 28, Yusuf 4-22);

Union Christian Hr Sec School (Ch-31) 171-9 in 30 overs (Mohammed Zufar 30, Akash Mills  56, Vaideesh 3-18) bt SBOA Mat Hr Sec School (Ch-101) 96-8 in 30 overs (M Visaal 25  no, Richard Barnabas 3-19);

St Bede’s AIHSS ‘A’, Mylapore (Ch-4) 176-6 in 30 overs (S Abishiek 39, Mohammed Adnan Khan 51 no, S Kalaiselvan 3-28) bt Dominic Savio MHSS, Mylapore (Ch-4) 59 in 29.1 overs (Mohammed Mustajah 29);

PSBB ‘A’, KK Nagar 95 in 29.4 overs (S Mano Balaji 5-11) bt Nellai Nadar MHSS, Kottivakkam (Ch-41) 49 in 19 overs (Akshay Giridhar 3-15);

St John’s Mat Hr Sec School (Ch-49) 153-6 in 30 overs (V. Prince Xavier 35, S Kishan Kumar 45, KN Siddarth 26) bt Sri Sankara Sr Sec School, Adyar (Ch-20) 73 in 22.1 overs (S Kishan Kumar 3-10);

St John’s English School & Jr College (Ch-90) 116 in 29.3 overs lost to Bhavan’s Rajaji Vidyashram, Kilpauk 118-5 in 24 overs (Premal M Joshi 50);

St Michael’s Academy MHSS, Adyar (Ch-20) 73 in 28.1 overs (E. Ragavendar 30, P Ajith Kumar 3-9) lost to Santhome Hr Sec School ‘A’, Mylapore 74-1 in 15.1 overs (D Aditya Barooah 40).

Diana To Lead SZ

Diana David will lead the South Zone women’s team in the inter-zonal one-day limited overs  cricket tournament at Indore from Dec 1 to 7.

Team: Diana David (captain),  Niranjana Nagarajan (Vice-Captain), MD Thirush Kamini, Karuna Jain  (wk), Mamtha Kanojia, Shravathi Krishnamurthy, Sunita Anand (wk), Anusha Prabakaran, S Asha, Shika Pandey, Soujanyanath, CV Swetha, PV Sudha Rani, T Shani, Sunanda Yethrekar.

Team Officials: Manager: K Pushpavathy; Coach: K Hema Maalini.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp