Chennai edge Cuddalore to advance

Published: 29th November 2012 10:22 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th November 2012 10:22 AM   |  A+A-

Chennai beat Cuddalore 4-3 in tiebreaker after a goalless regulation time and progressed to the second round of the CM’s Cup Football tournament at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Wednesday. Tuticorn, Sivaganga, Coimbatore and Nilgirs also secured wins.

Results (men’s): Chennai bt Cuddalore 4-3, Tuticorn bt Ramanathapuram 6-0, Sivaganga bt Tiruvannamalai 3-1, Coimbatore bt Dharmapuri 3-1, Theni bt Tirunelveli 4-0, Nilgris bt Krihnagiri 3-0.

Women’s: Kanyakumari bt Karur 2-0, Coimbatore bt Ariyalur 5-0, Dindigul bt Ramanathapuram 5-0, Cuddalore bt Virudhunagar 6-0, Salem bt Villupuram 4-0.

Rajesh scalps six

G Rajesh Kumar grabbed six wickets for 28 runs as Minerva CC beat Prasad CC by 29 runs in the TNCA Fourth Division A  League match here. Batting first, Minerva were restricted to a modest 197 in 46.2 overs.

Brief score (Division four A): Sea Hawks CC 368 for six in 50 overs (C Babu 61, A Mohammed Asif Iqbal 71, P Pavan Kumar 89, SPM Sam Sundaram 4/50) bt Kohinoor XI 142 in 39 overs (SPM Sam Sundaram 40, R Pattabhiraman 3/33, S Raja 3/44); Minerva CC 197 in 46.2 overs (H Sathish Babu 45, M Arul 3/54, Hemanth Ragu 3/35) bt Prasad CC 168 in 43.2 overs (Ajay Frederick 54, G Rajesh Kumar 6/28); Jupier SC 200 for nine in 50 overs (G Vijay Kumar 40, K Fayasudeen 47, S Logesh 6/40) lost to Social CC 204 for seven in 34.1 overs (S Ganesh Kumar 45 no, G Chandrasekar 3/73); Sounder CC 239 for seven in 50 overs (G Kalaivanan 51, TT Sashank 42) bt Rising Stars CC 213 in 47.5 overs (K Prakash 80, S Guru Prasad 43, P Subramani 6/47).

Ravindra shines

Ravindra Babu’s 46 helped Fidelity beat RCA by six wickets in the Stugo Cup cricket tournament held at Reddy’s Sumangali gardens, Santoshapuram.

Brief scores: RCA 148 for 9  in 30 overs (Muthu 50, Ram 3/30, Manish 3/16) lost to Fidelity 149 for 4 in 19.4 overs ( Ravindra Babu 46). MoM: Ravindra Babu; Elite Stars 145 for 8 in 27 overs (Muthupandi 49, Harikumar 3/32) bt Ignited Bats 144 in 27 overs (George 49, Mahenth 4/28) MoM: Mahenth; Rhinos XI 147 in 27.3 overs (Krupash 39, Mani 3/27) lost to Ignited Bats 148 for 7 in 27 overs (Kaushik 30, Aadalarasu 3/20). MoM: Kaushik; Spectra 167 for 6 in 27 overs (Roop Prasad 75 no, Abilash 43, Prasanna 3/26) bt Cognizant Super Kings 155 for 8 in 26.1 overs (Shravan kumar 33, Thiyagarajan 44, Rajesh 3/39); Spectra won on better run rate as bad light stopped play. MoM: Roop Prasad

TNAA warning

Athletic Federation of India/Tamil Nadu Athletic Association has not granted any permission for the conduct of The Wipro Chennai Marathon in Chennai on Dec 2. Since it is not a recognised marathon all the states and clubs are requested not to send athletes for this event. Any athletes participating in this marathon will be viewed seriously, says a release from WI Davaram, President of the TN Athletic Association.

Saleem scores

SA Saleem of MCC defeated Sreenath of Pot Shot 3–0 in the Senior Snooker in the qualifying round of the Tamil Nadu State Ranking meet.


Bhuvaneshwaran (TNBSA) bt Vijayakumar (M 2000) 3–0; Raj Mohan (TNBSA) bt Mahadevan (Mr.Cue) 3–1; SA Saleem (MCC) bt Sreenath (Pot Shot) 3–0; Hameed (Cue City) bt Laxmikanth (SIVA) 3–1; Arun (Mr.Cue) bt Venkatesulu (TNBSA) 3–2; Nazeer (Cue City) bt Kafi Ullah Khan (TNBSA) 3–2; Mustaq (Q Trickz) bt Sachin Sharma (M 2000) 3–0; MK Manoj (Gymkhana) bt Balamurugan (TNBSA) 3–2; Ramana (TNBSA) bt Nandakumar (Cue City) 3–0; Ameen (Cue City) bt SK Gupata (TNBSA) 3–1; Rajesh Bothra (TNBSA) bt Shane Lawrence (GJSR) 3–2; R Sriram (TNBSA) bt Masilamani (SVS) 3–2.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp