Lokeshwar slams unbeaten ton for City I

Published: 09th August 2013 07:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th August 2013 07:58 AM   |  A+A-

S Lokeshwar’s unbeaten 100 helped City I post 241 for seven against City III in the TNCA Round Robin Under-16 tournament at Marina grounds. In reply, City III were six for no loss.

Brief scores: At VB Nest: City IV 285/7 (Ryan Jebaraj 65, K Sivakumar 65, P Ajith Kumar 57) vs City II.

At Marina: City I 241/7 (S Lokeshwar 100 n.o, Aniroudh Baskaran 71, S Ajith Ram 3/47, AS Abdul Jabbar 3/55) vs City III 6/0.

St Joseph’s Qualify

St Joseph’s Institute of Technology men qualified for the league phase by defeating Bharath University 43-34 in a third round match of the 15th All India inter-collegiate basketball tournament, organised by Sree Raghavendra Basketball Club.

Results: Round 3: Women: Jeppiaar Institute of Technology 57 bt Chettinad 19; MOP Vaishnava 48 bt Santhome 11; St Joseph’s College of Engineering 40 bt Women Christian College 35; SBM Jain University 69 bt Vidyodaya 61.

Men: St Joseph’s Institute of Technology 43 bt Bharath University 34; Jeppiaar Institute of Technology 67 bt Hindustan University 39. Rd 2: Hindustan Arts & Science 71 bt Loyola College 59; Jeppiaar Institute of Technology 74 bt Madras Christian College 64; St Joseph’s College of Engineering 60 bt Tamil Nadu Sports University 38.

Arthi in Final

Arthi of Ethiraj College defeated Shruthi Narayani of Loyola College of Engg 6-4, 6-0 in the semifinals of the Chairman’s Trophy organised by DG Vaishnav College.

Results: Semifinals: Women: Arthi (Ethiraj) bt Shruthi Narayani (Loyola Engg) 6-4, 6-0; Sai Samitha (MOP) bt Nithyaraj  (MOP) 6-1, 6-2.

Men: Harish Ramakrishana (Loyola) bt S Siddarth Reddy (DG Vaishnav) 6-2, 6-4; Elvyn Antony (SRM) bt Rithivik Anand (SRM) w/o.

MCC in Quarters

Madras Christian College Higher Secondary School defeated Don Bosco MHSS Wisdom Town 5-0 and entered the quarterfinals of the Fr Mohanraj Memorial Trophy inter-school football tournament. In another match, Don Bosco HSS Perambur beat St Joseph A I HSS 9-0.

National Jr Tennis

The cream of junior tennis talent in the country will be seen in action in the Adidas-MCC National Junior U-18 and National Sub-junior Under-14 clay court tennis championships to be held at MCC, TTT, and various other courts in the city. The qualifying rounds start on August 10 and the tournament will go on till August 24.

Shaikh Abdullah (AP), Suraj R Prabodh (KA), Sahil Deshmukh (MH) and Neeraj Elangovan (TN) are some of the promising players in the U-18 boys’ category. Simran Kaur Sethi (DL), Vanshika Sawhney (DL) and Vasanti P Shinde (MH) are the ones to watch out for in the girls’ U-18 segment.

Course For Coaches

The AITA Level III tennis coaches’ course conducted at the SDAT Tennis Stadium concluded on Thursday. Out of the 29 participants, 21 were from the districts. Suresh Kumar and Sunil Yajaman, the ITF Level 2 tutors, were satisfied at the response of  the participants.

More from Sport


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp