Ajith beats Senthura to clinch senior title

Published: 19th August 2013 08:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th August 2013 08:08 AM   |  A+A-

S Ajith Kumar of St Marys beat Senthura Pandi of Santhome HSS 11-6,11-9,11-9 in the final of the senior category in the inter-school segment of the Independence Day Cup 2013 organised by SDAT-AKG TT academy here on Sunday.

Results: (all finals): Boys: Sub Junior: S Tharun (Seetha Kingston House) w/o Md Younis (Spartans MHSS); Junior: F Sebastian (St Josephs Boys AIHSS) bt Vikas Ravikumar (Chettinad Vidyashram) 11-7, 12-10, 11-1;  Senior: S Ajith Kumar(St.Marys) bt Senthura Pandi (Santhome HSS) 11-6, 11-9, 11-9  Girls: Sub Junior: M Yazhini (DAV Girls SSS) bt M Nithyashree (Manthans Vidyashram) 11-6, 11-7, 9-11, 12-10; Junior: N Deepika (Bentinck) bt R.Ananya (Chinmaya Vidyashram) 11-4,11-7,11-1; Senior: N Narmadha (Tele Magadalene Girls HSS) bt K Ezhilarasi (Lady Sivaswamy Girls HSS) 11-7,11-8,7-11,11-6; Corporate Event: Men: Singles: Jaikumar (L&T) bt N Aditya (Federal Bank);Team: Federal Bank bt Infosys 3-0; Doubles: Aditya and Sujit bt Manikandan and Hariharasudan.

Indian Bank Thrash Dominic Memorial Indian Bank blanked Dominic Memorial 8-0 in a CHA senior division league championship match at MRC stadium.

Results: Indian Bank (Umesh 3, Charles 3, V Raja 2) 8 bt Dominic Memorial 0.

Venkatesh Sizzles

A Venkatesh’s 6 for 15 was the feature of Twentieth Century Club’s 78-run win over CromBest Recreation Club in a Third Division ‘A’ Zone league match of the TNCA.

Results: III Division ‘A’: Swaraj Cricket Club 224 for 8 in 50 overs (G Kalaivanan 30, P. Sudharsan 49, R Raj Kumar 37 n.o, S Senthil Kumar 56) bt T Srinivasaraghavan Memorial Sports Club 216 for 9 in 50 overs (K Vignesh 30, A Joseph Raj Kumar 34, AM Saravanan 47, RM Seshan Muthu 6-46). Bunts Cricket Club 178 in 47.1 overs (R Rohin Lingam 45, V Danush Kumar 36, E Manoharan 31, S Madhavan 3-36) lost to Reserve Bank Recreation Club 179 for 4 in 39.4 overs (T Vigneshpathy 61, Prabhu Balachandiran 41 n.o, M Lakshmi Narayanan 36). Nelson Sports Club 152 in 45 overs (J Sudhakar 62, R Sathya Seelan 4-45, R Vineeth 3-39) lost to Madras Port Trust Staff Institute 153 for 4 in 40.1 overs (GV Vignesh 84 n.o. S Samuel 3-54)  Venkateswara Cricket Club 212 for 8 in 50 overs (Adhithya Raghuraman 45, T Bharath 36, V Prabu 6-49) bt Central United Club 136 in 30.2 overs (S. Karthikeyan 59, Hardik K Parikh 6-32)Twentieth Century Club 161 in 47.4 overs (D Anchit 70, A Vivek 3/44, S Gopinath 4/26) bt CromBest Recreation Club 83 in 24.3 overs (A Venkatesh 6/15).City Central League 99 in 34.3 overs (R Sundaramoorthy 4-36, Mohammed Azarudeen 4-18) lost to Prithvi Cricket Club 103 for 3 in 24.4 overs (A Godwin Rubesh 42 no).

More from Sport.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp