Gem Of India Award for ex-cricketer Dharmalingam

Published: 01st February 2013 09:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st February 2013 09:28 AM   |  A+A-


Recognising former cricketer PK Dharmalingam’s service to the game, the All India Achievers Conference in New Delhi, feted him with the “Gem of India” award. Union Minister of State Ninong Ering handed over the award to Dharmalingam on Wednesday.

The former all-rounder, apart from his successful first-class career with Madras and Services that lasted a decade, had been a prominent figure in the State’s cricket circuit. A qualified coach, he has coached various age-group teams, Central Zone and State Ranji team, apart from guiding Madras University to victory in the All India Rohinton Baria Trophy and Tamil Nadu team to U-19 title in the Cooch Behar Trophy.

An agile fielder in his prime, team India sought him for fielding practices whenever they played in Chepauk. His contributions didn’t stop there, as he started Dharma’s Cricket Academy in 1977, first of such initiatives in the State, where he went onto impart the basics of cricket to youngsters, many of whom went onto play at a higher level. Also, he was the chief selector of the national women’s team for several years.

Aravind Sizzles

Man of the Match S Aravind’s 77 helped Padma Seshadri, Nungambakkam beat Terapanth Jain Vidyalaya School, Sowcarpet by 20 runs in the TSN Trophy T20 cricket tournament here.

Brief scores: DAV Sr Sec School, Mogappair 101-8 in 20 overs lost to St Bede’s 103-2 in 14.5 overs (M S Washington Sudar 57 no). MoM: MS Washington Sudar; PSBB Sr Sec School, Nungambakkam 145-2 in 15 overs (S Aravind 77, Rishi K Narayanan 50) bt Terapanth Jain Vidyalaya School, Sowcarpet 125-6 in 15 overs (Subam J Danjra 42, S Harish 28, P B Anirudh 3/32). MoM: S Aravind.

Babu Cracks Ton

G Babu’s breezy 104 was the feature of Kancheepuram DCA’s 91-run win over District Cricket Association of Thirupur in the SS Rajan Trophy inter-districts tournament for seniors.

Brief scores: Kancheepuram DCA 260-9 in 50 overs (G Babu 104, A Ganesh Kumar 47, A Tanwar 38, A Mohammed Safiq 3/66) bt District Cricket Association of Thirupur 169 for 8 in 50 overs (M Dinesh Kumar 29, M Mohan Kumar 28, A Mohammed Safiq 32 no, S Omesh 4/36).

Rapid Chess

Sree Narayanaa Coffee House-Chettinaadu Inn Star Comfort Hotel TN State FIDE-rated 20th team and 14th blitz chess championships for KRTA Varatharaj Educational and Charities Rolling Trophy will be organized by Kanadukathan Chess Club at Sri Kalaivani Vidyalaya Matric HSS in Karaikudi from February 11 to 14.

The total cash prize fund is `40,000 and the winning team will be awarded with `8000 along with the KRTA trophy.  Entries close on February 2 with SV Muthukumar, secretary of Sivagangai District Chess Association, No 104, Thendral Illam, Alangudiar Street, Karaikudi. Further details can be had from 9443288931 or e-mail:

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp