Rameez continues dream run, moves into summit clash

Published: 02nd February 2013 10:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd February 2013 10:28 AM   |  A+A-

Tamil Nadu’s wild card entrant Rameez continued his dream run and reached the final in the 45-plus category of the RS Santhanam Memorial National Veterans Tennis Championship at the Mylapore Club here. In the semifinal, he accounted for Delhi’s Gauri Shanker Saini without dropping a game and set up a summit clash with seventh seed Sivakumar Palani, who stopped qualifier Nirmal Kumar’s memorable run in the tournament.

Results (semifinals): +45: (WC) Rameez (TN) bt (3) Gauri Shanker Saini (DLI) 6-0, 6-0; (S7) Sivakumar Palani bt (Q) Nirmal Kumar 6-2, 7-5; +50 singles: KR Madhukar Kumar (TN) bt (S1) Murali Padmanaban 7-6 [8], 6-4; EPS Meghanathan (TN) bt MP Shankar TN) 2-6, 6-4, 6-2; +55 singles: (S1) M Suresh (AP) bt (S4) PK Gupta (UP) 6-1; 7-6 [5]; (S3) Arun Khanna (DLI) bt Narayanan Bhat (TN) 6-2;7-5; +60 singles (S1 AJS Chatwal (DLI) bt (S6) TN Prasad (TN) 6-1; 6-2; (S2) MS Venkatachalam (TN) bt (S8) MD Franklin (TN) 6-2; 6-4; +65: (S3) KK Aravind (TN) bt (S6) Kaimal Arvind (KAR) 6-0; 6-1; T Subramanian (TN) bt T Balachandar 6-2, 6-2.       

Anirudh scalps 4

K Anirudh snared four wickets for 22 runs to set up King Star’s two-wicket win against AVM CA in the Skylab CAC Under-14 Cricket Tournament held at Tube Products Cricket Ground on Friday.

Brief scores: Budding Star CA 131 for 6 in 25 overs (S Akshay Kumar 40) bt MAS CA 100 for 9 in 25 overs; AVM CA 103 for 9 in 25 overs (A Vinod 25, Anirudh K 4/22) lost to King Star CA 104 for 8 in 22 overs (Aswin T Neelakandan 37); Skylab CA “A” 140 for 8 in 25 overs (J Leo Daniel 25, M Hemachandran 26) lost to Chennai Star CA 141 for 4 in 24 overs (M Panchal 58); Oceanic CA 79 in 24 overs (Hareesh 25, K Shrijith 3/12) lost to King Star CA 80 for 3 in 10 overs (Ashwin T Neelakandan 43 no); Budding Stars CA 168 for 2 in 25 overs (D Prashanth Prabhu 68, S A Kumar 53) bt Stumped CF 158 for 2 in 25 overs (S Santhosh Kumar 81, V Akshay 34); Chennai Stars CA 118 for 4 in 25 overs (S Joel Roshan 37, A Das Gupta 34) lost to Stumped CF 119 for 3 in 18.3 overs (Kumar DV 72 no).

Harish Shines

Harish Ranganathan’s dream spell of 4 for 2 enabled St Patrick’s, Adyar to defeat Vidya Mandir, Mylapore by 10 runs in the TSN Trophy T20 cricket match.

Brief scores: St Patrick’s A I Hr Sec School, Adyar 126-8 in 20 overs (CB Rajasekar 43, Ramesh Raja 46, A Kumar 5/17) bt Vidya Mandir Sr Sec School, Mylapore 116 in 20 overs (S Vignesh 28, CS Narayanan 26, V Aravind 33, H Ranganathan 4/2). MoM: Harish Ranganathan; Nellai Nadar Hr Sec School, Kottivakkam 152-6 in 20 overs (K Veera Jayachandran 27, V Prabakaran 29, P Kumar 46, M Sidharth 3/18) bt Chettinad Vidyashram, R A Puram 108 in 17.3 overs (V Umamaheshwaran 32, M Sheik Mohamed Ismail 3/13). MoM: M Sheik Mohamed Ismail.

Abhilash Advances

M Abhilash of PSBB beat G Adithya of Chettinad 11-3,11-8,11-5 in the Jussportz–Gymnco Republic Day Cup 2013 Tanveer Memorial-SDAT AKG inter-school table tennis tournament.

Results: Boys Junior: Quarterfinals: M Abhilash (PSBB) bt G Adithya (Chettinad) 11-3, 11-8, 11-5; AK Aravind (BVM) bt U Gokul (NPS) 14-12, 14-12, 12-10; P Deenadayalan (St Joseph) bt V Narayanasamy (PSBB) 9-11, 11-8, 8-11, 11-9, 11-3; F Sebastian (St Joseph) bt K Harish (Princess) 9-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-4,12-10.

Pre-quarterfinals: M Abhilash (PSBB) bt Livington (DB-P) 11-7,11-6, 11-7; G Adithya (Chettinad) bt M Christopher (UC) 3-11, 11-7, 11-8, 15-13; AK Aravind (BVM) bt P Abhishek (Chinmaya) 11-2, 11-8, 11-6; U Gokul (NPS) bt N Aravind (PS Sr) 11-13, 11-7, 11-6, 6-11, 11-7; V Narayanaswamy (PSBB) bt A Akash (St Paul’s) 13-11, 12-10, 3-11, 11-7; P Deenadayalan (St Joseph) bt Sanketh (Chinmaya) 11-6, 8-11, 11-4, 11-6; K Harish (Princess) bt S Veera (SBOA) 11-7, 4-11, 11-7, 11-6; F Sebastian  (St Joseph) bt S Sohit (MVM) 12-10, 11-9, 11-4.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp