TNSA to compete in OzFest

Published: 17th January 2013 02:31 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th January 2013 02:31 PM   |  A+A-

The Tamil Nadu Sailing Association will participate in the OzFest to be held on the Marina Beach on January 19. TNSA’s sailors will be sailing the Australian designed and built 29er boats on the waters near Marina, promising a colourful spectacle for the public.

TNSA introduced the 29er class of boats in India for the first time in 2009 during the inaugural India International Regatta. Sleek and light, this boat that skims the water at incredible speeds has great appeal to the modern youth bred on high speeds and high performance technology. Currently TNSA sailors hold all three top positions in India in the 29er class besides performing creditabl,y in the international arena as well.

In the OzFest, champions from TNSA, K C Ganapathy / Varun Thakkar, Varsha Gautham / Aishwarya Nedunchezhiyan and Hussain Bhavnagarwala / Rufus Patrick will be sailing their boats between 3 and 4 pm off the shores near the Marina Beach. Also sailing will be a 44-foot sailing yacht Frama, that belongs to TNSA members.


In a bid to encourage basketball in the State, Professional Basketball Association will conduct an Inter-school and College tournament as well as an Inter-corporate tournament at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium. The tournament for the schools and colleges would begin on January 17 while the corporate trophy would start on January 19.

The matches for schools and colleges will be played under the knockout system whereas corporate would straightaway play the semifinal league and the top teams in each pool will play the finals on January 20.

Teams (schools): boys: MCTM, Don Bosco (Perambur), Vidyamandir, Balavidyamandir, Santhome HSS, MLM Kancheepuram, Nellai Nadar HSS, St Peters, Sethu Bhaskara, Sir Sivasami Kalalaya, Velammal (Mugappair), PSBB (KK Nagar), Loyola Matriculation, Union Christian, Bhavans Rajaji, PAK Palanisamy, Sherwood Hall. 

Girls: Vidyodaya, St. Raphel, Bhavans Rajaji, PSBB KK Nagar, St. Alosius, Vidyamandir, Bala Vidyamandir, PSBB Millenium, Lady MCTM.

Colleges: Satyabhama University, Loyola College, Vel Tech University, Hindustan Arts, Anna Violet Arts & Science, Hindustan University, St Peters College, MCC, St Josephs, Jeppiaar Institute of Tech.


Advaita Saravanan defeated second seed Megha Muthukumaran 6-0, 6-2 in the girls under 14 pre-quarterfinals of the 29th Annual TTT Junior Tennis Championship, played at Triangle Tennis Trust, Nandanam.

Results Girls U-12 (all pre-quarterfinals):  Suchita AV bt Vibha Hariharan 6-2, 6-0; Anu Varma bt Pavana 6-2, 6-0; Anuncy Jessy  bt Viveha Sivaraman 6-1, 6-2; Rochana bt Kamila S 6-1, 6-0; Harini Parthiban bt Saidiya Balaji 6-1, 7-5; Adithi VK bt Kaavya Palani 6-2, 6-0; Mirudhula Palanivel bt Sunsheaishwarya 6-0, 6-0;  Kiranrani G bt Joshika Premkumar 6-2, 6-2  U-14: Vasavi Ganesan bt Keziahcatherene Abraham 6-4, 6-1; Michelle Joan bt Anu Varma 4-6, 6-2, 6-2; Anuncy Jessy bt Vishaka Karthikeyan 6-3, 7-6 (4);  Abhinaya bt Priyatharshini 6-2, 6-4;  Aarthi Murali bt Lakshmi 6-2, 6-1; Advaita Saravanan bt Megha Muthukumaran 6-0, 6-2.  U-16: Vasavi Ganesan bt Adithi bhaskar 6-2, 6-2; Advaita Saravanan bt Keziahcatherne Abraham 6-0, 6-0; (S4) Megha Muthukumaran bt Priyatharshini R 6-3, 6-3; Varshini UJ bt Abinaya R 6-3, 6-3; Aarthi Murali bt Niveditha Badri 6-0, 6-2; Michelle Joan J bt Janaki Kamalanathan 6-0, 6-1; P.lakshmi bt Rachna Arvind 6-4, 6-3; Shrayashree bt  Sharon Rose 6-0, 6-1.

Chennai: Indian Bank, Chennai  defeated Universal Soccer School, Calicut 5-0 in the Don Bosco–Fr. McFerran Trophy All-India football tournament conducted by Don Bosco Youth Centre, Wisdom Town, Redhills on Wednesday.

Results: IB, Chennai 5 (Parthiban 9th, P Karthick 32, E Christian 45, Edwin 82, R Karthick 90) bt Universal Soccer School, Calicut 0.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp