Sam scalps seven to put Globe trotters in control

Published: 13th July 2013 11:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th July 2013 11:39 AM   |  A+A-

Sunil Sam’s penetrative bowling and subsequent haul of 7 for 65 paved the way for Globe Trotters to bowl out IOB for a modest 211 on the first day of the second round of the TNCA Senior Division league at Pachaiyappa’s college grounds.

AG Pradeep was the only one from IOB who could negotiate the Trotters bowlers and made a valuable 83. Once Pradeep got out in the 50.4 over, IOB’s innings collapsed.

Sam’s fiery spell (7-3-12-6) bundled out the cream of the IOB batsmen.

BRIEF SCORES: At SRMC (Turf): TSC 123/4 in 68 overs (LN Prasad Reddy 28, A Ganesh Kumar 25, Akkil Srinaath 32 batting; M Suresh Babu 2/25) vs Youngstars. At Murugappa: Alwarpet 88/1 in 34 overs (S Karthik 40 batting, B Rahul 44) vs TI Cycles. At IIT Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 199/5 in 90 overs (KH Gopinath 34, Ashwin Venkataraman 32, C Hemant Kumar 57 batting, J Syed Mohammed 26 batting; S Suresh Kumar 2/46) vs Grand Slam. At MRF Pachaiyappas ‘A’: IOB 211 in 64 overs (Robert Fernandez 35, AG Pradeep 83; Sunil Sam’s 7/65) vs Globe Trotters SC 50/2 in 19 overs.


SRM easily defeated IB 25-17, 25-21, 25-22 in a men’s match of the P John Memorial volleyball tournament here on Friday.

RESULTS: Men: IB bt Kerala Police 23-25, 25-22, 25-18, 25-18; IB bt Southern Railway 25-19, 25-18, 25-25; Income Tax bt Panimalar EC 25-23, 25-18, 25-23; SRM bt IB 25-17, 25-21, 25-22; Kerala Police bt ICF 25-26, 21-25, 20-25, 25-14, 19-17. Women: Central Raliway bt SAI (Thalechery) 25-19, 25-18, 25-23.

Babu Slams Ton

G Babu’s century (120) enabled Garnet RC to beat Venugopal CC by 83 runs in a First Division match of the TNCA-Kancheepuram DCA league.

BRIEF SCORES: First Division: Garnet RC 239 in 44.2 overs (G Babu 120, V Rajesh 26) bt Venugopal CC 156 in 34.1 overs (M Neelachander 31, R Sreekanth 26; G Babu 3/32, M Subanandhan 3/51).

Divya Shines

P Divya of SBOA beat G Aishwarya Ravi of PSBB-N 10-12, 11-8, 11-7, 11-7 in the Girls Senior final of the City Schools Table Tennis tournament organised by Maharishi Vidya Mandir Senior Secondary School.

RESULTS (All Finals): Boys: Senior: S Gnaneshwaran (PT Lee) bt R Sathyanarayanan (Sri Sankara) 11-9, 10-12, 9-11, 11-4, 11-3. Junior: F Sebastian (St Joesph) bt Aravind Krishna (SBOA) 7-11, 13-11, 11-8, 8-11, 11-8. Sub-junior: Mohd Yunus (Spartan) bt J Sriram (KPC) 11-9, 6-11, 11-7, 11-1.

Girls: Senior: P Divya (SBOA) bt G Aishwarya Ravi (PSBB-N) 10-12, 11-8, 11-7, 11-7. Junior: R Divya (KV) bt AP Tanuja (MVM) 6-11, 11-4, 12-10, 11-7. Sub-junior: KE Monica (KV) bt J Maria Ancy (St Aloysius) 11-8, 11-8, 11-8.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp