National hockey meet in Pune from Tuesday

Published: 27th May 2013 04:10 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th May 2013 04:11 PM   |  A+A-


The third edition of the Hockey India (HI) Senior Men's National Championship will be played here from May 28 to June 10.

As many as 38 teams will participate in the championship which will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis at the Major Dhyan Chand Polygrass Hockey Stadium in Pimpri and Shiv Chhatrapati Shivaji Sports Complex in Balewadi.

This edition will see four new teams including Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG), Sports Authority of India (SAI), Mumbai Hockey Association Limited and Namdhari XI.

The inaugural match shall be played May 28 between Madhya Pradesh and Tripura in Pool B.

All teams are divided in eight pools. Defending champions Punjab have been drawn in Pool A with Delhi, Association of Indian Universities, Gujarat and Arunachal Pradesh.

HI selectors and a Government Observer will be watching the performance of all the players to select the probables for future camps.

HI will provide hosts Hockey Maharashtra a grant of Rs.20 lakh for organising the championship.

The Pools:

Pool A: Punjab, Delhi, Association of Indian Universities, Gujarat and Arunachal Pradesh.

Pool B: Air India, Madhya Pradesh, Puducherry, Tripura and Chhattisgarh.

Pool C: Karnataka, Services Sports Control Board, Bihar, Goa and SAI.

Pool D: Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Andaman and Nicobar and Mumbai.

Pool E: Jharkhand, Odisha, Himachal Pradesh, Bengal and CAG.

Pool F: Railways, Bhopal, Sashastra Seema Bal, Jammu and Kashmir and Namdhari XI.

Pool G: Manipur, Andhra Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Kerala.

Pool H: Tamil Nadu, Chandigarh, Assam and Rajasthan.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp