Suraj Scalps Seven

Published: 04th March 2015 06:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th March 2015 06:06 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD: Suraj Naik claimed 7 for 10 and scored 36 to star in Combined District’s nine-wicket win over President’ XI in the HCA junior zonal two-day cricket tournament here on Tuesday.

Brief scores: Hyderabad XI 262 in 70 ovs (Syed Ghouse Junaid 59; Anirudh Raj 3/66) bt Chairman XI 232 in 62.1 ovs (Prateek Reddy 71); Combined XI 106 in 18.4 ovs (Rishi 6/34) lost to Secunderabad XI 109/2 in 21.4 ovs; President XI 69 in 18.2 ovs (Suraj Naik 7/10) lost to Combined District ‘B’ 72/1 in 15.4 ovs; Combined District ‘A’ 358/5 in 50 ovs (Shravan 82, Wajid 110, Shiva 95; Vijender 3/64) bt Rest XI 119 in 35.5 ovs (Deepak 5/18).


State Bank of Hyderabad (SBH) held South Central Railway (SCR) to a goalless draw in the Rahim league football tournament here on Tuesday.

In another match, DMRL defeated State Bank of India 3-0. David scored a brace while Avinash struck one goal in DMRL’s win.

Karnataka Triumph

Anantapur: An unbeaten Karnataka emerged champions in the South Zone U-25 cricket tournament that concluded here on Tuesday. In their fourth and final league match, Karnataka beat Kerala by two wickets.

Arjun Hoyasala of Karnataka was adjudged as the best batsman, M Aswin of Tamil Nadu was the best bowler while MK Akshaya of Kerala was declared the Man of the Series.

Brief scores (4th and final round): Kerala 200/9 in 50 ovs (MK Akshay 68; KC Kariyappa 3/25) lost to Karnataka 203/8 in 49.2 ovs (David Mathias 64 no; Tilbin Joseph 3/56); Andhra 270 in 50 ovs (Jyothi Sai Krishna 74, Girinath Reddy 80; M Aswin 4/54) bt Tamil Nadu 106 in 43.4 ovs (Girinath Reddy 4/41, Sneha Kishore 3/21).

Awards: Best batsman: Arjun Hoyasala (Kar); Best bowler: M Aswin (TN); Man of the Series: MK Akshaya (Kerala).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp