Djokovic, Serena Top Australia Open Seeding Lists

Defending champions and world No. 1 ranked Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams top the Australian Open seedings list.

Published: 14th January 2016 11:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th January 2016 11:07 AM   |  A+A-

Serena Williams_Djokovic 1

Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic. |File Photo


MELBOURNE: Defending champions and world No. 1 ranked Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams top the Australian Open seedings lists, which follow rankings ahead of the first Grand Slam tournament of 2016.

Four-time finalist Andy Murray was seeded No. 2, 17-time major winner Roger Federer was No. 3 and 2014 champion Stan Wawrinka was No. 4, one higher than Rafael Nadal, according to Xinhua news agency.

On the women's side, Simona Halep was No. 2, Garbine Muguruza was No. 3, Agieszka Radwanska was No. 4 and Maria Sharapova, the 2008 champion and finalist last year, was No. 5. 

Two-time Australian Open champion Victoria Azarenka moved back into the top 16 with her victory at the Brisbane International last week, her first title since 2013.

She finished last season at No. 22 but moved up the rankings with her title run in the Australian Open warmup tournament and was seeded No. 14 at Melbourne Park, meaning she avoids early-round encounters with the top-ranked players. 

A win over 2014 U.S. Open runner-up Kei Nishikori and a run to the semifinals at the Brisbane International lifted Australia's Bernard Tomic to a No. 16 seeding in the men's draw. 

The Australian Open draw will take place on Friday. 

Following are the seeding lists. 


1. Novak Djokovic, Serbia 

2. Andy Murray, Britain 

3. Roger Federer, Switzerland 

4. Stan Wawrinka, Switzerland 

5. Rafael Nadal, Spain 

6. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic 

7. Kei Nishikori, Japan 

8. David Ferrer, Spain 

9. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France 

10. John Isner, United States 

11. Kevin Anderson, South Africa 

12. Marin Cilic, Croatia 

13. Milos Raonic, Canada 

14. Gilles Simon, France 

15. David Goffin, Belgium 

16. Bernard Tomic, Australia 

17. Benoit Paire, France 

18. Feliciano Lopez, Spain 

19. Dominic Thiem, Austria 

20. Fabio Fognini, Italy 

21. Viktor Troicki, Serbia 

22. Ivo Karlovic, Croatia 

23. Gael Monfils, France 

24. Roberto Bautista Agut, Spain 

25. Jack Sock, United States 

26. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Spain 

27. Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria 

28. Andreas Seppi, Italy 

29. Nick Kyrgios, Australia 

30. Jeremy Chardy, France 

31. Steve Johnson, United States 

32. Joao Sousa, Portugal 


1. Serena Williams, United States 

2. Simona Halep, Romania 

3. Garbine Muguruza, Spain 

4. Agnieszka Radwanska, Poland 

5. Maria Sharapova, Russia 

6. Petra Kvitova, Czech Republic 

7. Angelique Kerber, Germany 

8. Venus Williams, United States 

9. Karolina Pliskova, Czech Republic 

10. Carla Suarez Navarro, Spain 

11. Timea Bacsinszky, Switzerland 

12. Belinda Bencic, Switzerland 

13. Roberta Vinci, Italy 

14. Victoria Azarenka, Belarus 

15. Madison Keys, United States 

16. Caroline Wozniacki, Denmark 

17. Sara Errani, Italy 

18. Elina Svitolina, Ukraine 

19. Jelena Jankovic, Serbia 

20. Ana Ivanovic, Serbia 

21. Ekaterina Makarova, Russia 

22. Andrea Petkovic, Germany 

23. Svetlana Kuznetsova, Russia 

24. Sloane Stephens, United States 

25. Samantha Stosur, Australia 

26. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, Russia 

27. Anna Karolina Schmiedlova, Slovakia 

28. Kristina Mladenovic, France 

29. Irina-Camelia Begu, Romania 

30. Sabine Lisicki, Germany 

31. Lesia Tsurenko, Ukraine 

32. Caroline Garcia, France

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp