Shruthi continues run with silver

Tamil Nadu’s Shruthi Mahalingam continued her fine form with a silver in the women’s 1500m freestyle event.

Published: 26th September 2016 08:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th September 2016 08:28 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Tamil Nadu’s Shruthi Mahalingam continued her fine form with a silver in the women’s 1500m freestyle event on Day 2 of the 70th Senior National Aquatic Championship in Ranchi on Sunday. She clocked 18:21.53s.

Statemate PM Abhishktha claimed bronze. Other TN winners of the day included AV Jayaveena (women’s 50m breaststroke bronze) and third place for men in the 4x100m medley. Olympian Sajan Prakash broke his national record in men’s 200m butterfly, winning gold with 01:59.35s.

St Joseph’s bag title

St Joseph’s Sports Academy athletes won the overall championship at the Arise Steel 1st state athletic championships.

Results: 400m: Girls: U-20: 1. Mariya Rasathi (SDAT), 2. SV Aarthi (Aaron), 3. AP Srija (Kannian). Women: 1. Siniya Raju (Run Bird); 2. S Sangeetha (SAI); 3. T Pavithra (St Joseph’s). 3000m walk: Women: 1. R Pavithra (USF); 2. S Lavanya (Vella Ponneri); 3. K Thilagavathi (SDAT T’vmalai). Men: 1. M Vetrivel (Arise Steel); 2. R Vasanth (St Joseph’s); 3. Mohammed Rizwan (St Joseph’s). Hurdles: Men: 1. K Manikandan (St Joseph’s); 2. P Sri Gopalakrishnan (Aaron); 3. George Fernandez (St Joseph’s). Women: 1. RV Vishwapriya (USF); 2. J Dhivya (Elshadda); 3. S Nivedha (St Joseph’s). 80m Hurdles: Girls: U-16: 1. M Nisha (St Joseph’s); 2. PM Tabitha (St Joseph’s); 3. S Srireshma (Karlmax). Women: 1. K Keerthana (Elshaddai); 2. C Kanimozhi (St Joseph’s); 3. K Saranyadevi (St Joseph’s). Long Jump: Men: 1. Sarath Praveen (Elshhddai); 2. R Swaminathan (St Joseph’s); 3. SP Laxman (Elshhssai). Boys: U-16: 1. C Praveen (SDAT); 2. Bhavan Pradhickshan (St Joseph’s); 3. B Suresh (Royal). Boys: U-14: 1. Mohammed Ashif (Krishnagiri); 2. S Logeshwaran (SDAT); 3. S Aakashheinz (Kac Kovai). Girls: U-20: 1. Akshya Sri (St Joseph’s); 2. Suveitha Lakshmi (St Joseph’s); 3. S Vigneshwari (St Joseph’s). U-18: 1. Harshini Saravanan (Elshaddai); 2. R Punitha (SDAT); 3. SK Logamuthra (St Joseph’s). Women: 1. Uma Maheshwari (St Joseph’s); 2. Neeno Jose (St Joseph’s); 3. S Preethi (St Joseph’s).

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp