West Indies beat India by 2 wickets to level series 1-1

Chasing India\'s total of 288/5 in 50 overs, the visitors achieved the target with three balls to spare.

Published: 24th November 2013 10:05 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th November 2013 10:43 PM   |  A+A-

The West Indies beat India by two wickets in a thrilling finish in the second of the three One-Day Internationals (ODI) at the Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium here Sunday to level the series 1-1.


India scored 288/7 from their 50 overs after being put in to bat and the West Indies chased down the total with three balls to spare.

The visitors did not get off to a good start, losing two wickets - Johnson Charles (12) and Marlon Samuels (8) - in the first six overs with the score only at 23.

But opener Kieran Powell (59) and Darren Bravo (50) put together an important 100-run partnership for the third wicket to put the Windies' chase back on track.

The Caribbean side lost a few wickets in the middle overs but another good 82-run partnership continued their chase against the climbing run rate. Lendl Simmons (62) and Darren Sammy (63 not out) took the Windies from 185/5 to 267/6.

However, two quick wickets in the death overs poised the match for an exciting finish but Sammy made sure the visitors reached the target.

Medium pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, offie Ravichandran Ashwin and Mohammed Shami scalped two wickets each while Mohit Sharma took one.

Earlier, India put together a healthy total of 288/7 with dashing batsman Virat Kohli falling one short of another hundred.

Kohli played the anchor's innings scoring nine boundaries in his 100-ball knock. He was well supported by left handed opener Shikhar Dhawan (35) after the fall of opener Rohit Sharma (12) in the fifth over.

Middle order batsmen Yuvraj Singh (28) and Suresh Raina (23) chipped in to support Kohli in the middle overs to take India par the 200 mark.

After Kohli fell, being caught at long leg attempting a hook, Mahendra Singh Dhoni played a captain's knock to take India close to 300. Dhoni made 51 off 40 balls which included three boundaries and four sixes.

Ravi Rampaul was the pick of the bowlers for the visitors picking up his seventh four-wicket haul. Jason Holder, Veerasammy Permaul and Sammy clinched a wicket each.

The third and the final match will be held at Green Park, Kanpur Wednesday.



Rohit Sharma c Sammy b Rampaul 12
Shikhar Dhawan lbw b Permaul 35
Virat Kohli c Holder b Rampaul 99
Yuvraj Singh c Samuels b Sammy 28
Suresh Raina c DJ Bravo b Rampaul 23
Mahendra Singh Dhoni not out 51
Ravindra Jadeja b Rampaul 10
Ravichandran Ashwin c Charles b Holder 19
Bhuvneshwar Kumar not out 1

Extras (lb 1, w 9) 10

Total (for seven wickets in 50 overs) 288

Fall of wickets: 1-21 (RG Sharma, 4.5 overs), 2-69 (Dhawan, 13.2), 3-138 (Yuvraj Singh, 27.4), 4-203 (Raina, 37.2), 5-209 (Kohli, 39.6), 6-240 (Jadeja, 46.3), 7-287 (Ashwin, 49.5)


Ravi Rampaul 10-0-60-4
Jason Holder 10-0-63-1
Dwayne Bravo 8-0-54-0
Veerasammy Permaul 10-0-55-1
Sunil Narine 10-2-39-0
Darren Sammy 1-0-11-1
Lendl Simmons 1-0-5-0

West Indies:

Jonathan Charles c & b Kumar 12
Kieran Powell st Dhoni b Ashwin 59
Marlon Samuels c Dhoni b M Sharma 8
Darren Bravo c Dhoni b Ashwin 50
Lendl Simmons lbw b Jadeja 62
Dwayne Bravo c Dhawan b Kumar 18
Darren Sammy not out 63
Jason Holder c Dhoni b Mohammed Shami 7
Sunil Narine c sub (AT Rayudu) b Mohammed Shami 0
Veerasammy Permaul not out 0

Extras (lb 7, w 3) 10

Total (for eight wickets in 49.3 overs) 289

Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Charles, 2.4 overs), 2-23 (Samuels, 5.4), 3-123 (DM Bravo, 22.1), 4-147 (Powell, 26.1), 5-185 (DJ Bravo, 34.3), 6-267 (Simmons, 46.6), 7-285 (Holder, 48.2), 8-285 (Narine, 48.5)


Bhuvneshwar Kumar 9-1-56-2
Mohit Sharma 6.3-0-48-1
Mohammed Shami 7-0-55-2
Ravichandran Ashwin 10-1-37-2
Suresh Raina 7-0-42-0
Ravindra Jadeja 10-1-44-1

Match details:

Toss: West Indies chose to field

Umpires: Vineet Kulkarni and Rod Tucker (Australia)

TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary

Match referee: David Boon (Australia)



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp