TNCA round robin U-19: Adithyan's unbeaten ton helps city II take full points vs districts I

M Adithyan’s unbeaten 113 helped City II bag a lead of 116 runs over Districts I in a drawn match of the TNCA round robin U-19 tournament. City II won on first innings lead.

Published: 01st September 2013 08:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st September 2013 08:40 AM   |  A+A-

M Adithyan’s unbeaten 113 helped City II bag a lead of 116 runs over Districts I in a drawn match of the TNCA round robin U-19 tournament. City II won on first innings lead.

Brief scores: At VB Nest: Districts I 187 in 69.2 ovs drew with City II 303/7 in 90 ovs (M Adithyan 113 no, K. Dileeban 53); At Murugappa: Districts II 358 in 89.2 ovs drew with City III 281/6 in 90 ovs (MS Washington Sundar 122, K Vishal Vaidhya 105).

Nishanth Shines

C Hari Nishanth’s 43 paved the way for Sri Ramakrishna MHSS to beat Sri Jayendra Saraswathy VHSS by eight wickets in the final of the Coimbatore leg of the Junior Super Kings inter-school T20 championship.

Brief scores All final: Coimbatore: Sri Jayendra Saraswathy VHSS 104/9 in 20 ovs (A Sasidhar 31 no, N Mohammed Ashiq 3/23) lost to Sri Ramakrishna MHSS 108/2 in 17.3 ovs (C Hari Nishanth 43). MoM: Hari Nishanth. Special Awards Best batsman: Godwin Rubesh (Sri Jayendra Saraswathy Vidyalaya); Best bowler: S Sangameshwar (Satchidananda Jothi Niketan); Best all-rounder: A Sri Jaya Suriyan (Sri jayendra Saraswathy Vidyalaya); Player of the Tournament: C Hari Nishanth (Sri Ramakrishna MHSS); At Tiruvallur: KV Air Force 181/5 in 20 ovs (Rahul Prasad 75) bt Devi Academy 104/7 in 20 ovs. MoM: Rahul Prasad. Special Awards: Best batsman: Siddharth Goutham (Devi Academy); Best bowler: R Abhinav (Velammal Vidyalaya); Best all-rounder:  Ashwin Kumar G (RMK Residential School); Player of the Tournament: Rahul Prasad (KV Air Force, Avadi). At Kancheepuram: Modern SSS 90/9 in 20 ovs (G Prashanth 3/12) bt Sri Sankara Vidyalaya Hr Sec School (Pammal) 85/9 in 20 ovs (R Hariharan 4/11, R Karthik 3/16). MoM: R Hariharan. Special awards: Best batsman: S Swaminathan (Sri Sankara Vidyalaya HSS, Pammal); Best bowler: S Karthik Prabhu (Vyasa Vidyalaya HSS); Best all-rounder: M Manoj Seervi (Nellai Nadar Mat HSS); Player of the Tournament: R Karthik (Modern SSS) .

Velammal Annual Sports Meet

Alcifortius, the annual sports event of Velammal Vidhyashram, Surapet, was conducted amidst much festivity. The event was made lively with cinematic dances, parades and mass drill.

R Ramakrishnan, deputy commissioner of police, was the chief guest while Bernard A Philip, former skipper of Indian Railways basketball team, and beach volleyball international Bala Ganesh were the guests of honour. Close to 9,500 students participated in the event.

Dhruthi Bags Title

Second seed Dhruthi Tatachar defeated 14th seed Zeel Desai 6-4, 6-1 in the girls final of the Indian Oil Servo ITF Junior tennis championship.

Final results: U-18: Singles: Boys: Yi-Wei Huang (TPE) bt Ching-Huang Tsai 6-7 (1), 6-3, 6-3. Girls: Dhruthi Tatachar bt Zeel Desai 6-4, 6-1.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp