Sri Lanka Put New Zealand Into Bat in 4th ODI

Sri Lanka won the toss and put New Zealand into bat in the rain-delayed fourth one-day international at Saxton Oval in Nelson.

Published: 02nd January 2016 09:02 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd January 2016 09:02 AM   |  A+A-


NELSON: Sri Lanka won the toss and put New Zealand into bat in the rain-delayed fourth one-day international at Saxton Oval in Nelson on Saturday.

The match has been reduced to 24 overs each after a lengthy delay because of the weather. 

With the Duckworth-Lewis system likely to have a bearing on the outcome, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews said bowling first was the only option. 

Sri Lanka have made one change from the side that won the third match by eight wickets with Thisara Perera coming in for Nuwan Pradeep. 

New Zealand, who lead the five-match series 2-1, have made two changes with Matt Henry returning for injured quick bowler Tim Southee and spinner Ish Sodhi replacing Doug Bracewell. 

Kane Williamson again leads the side while regular captain Brendon McCullum is sidelined with a sore back.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan. 

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Jeffrey Vandersay. 

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL), Richard Illingworth (ENG) 

TV umpire: Michael Gough (ENG) 

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp