India Vs Australia 4th ODI, Australia Wins From the Jaws of Defeat

Australia has won the toss and decided to bat first in the fourth ODI against India at the Manuka Oval.

Published: 20th January 2016 08:35 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th January 2016 06:44 PM   |  A+A-


Australia's Kane Richardson, second from right, is congratulated by teammates after taking a wicket during their One Day International cricket match against India in Canberra, Australia, Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2016.|AP

CANBERRA: India today suffered a 25-run defeat against Australia in the fourth one-dayer of the five-match ODI series here today.  

After the dismissal of Rohit Sharma, Kohli joined Dhawan on the crease and piled on runs maintaining an constant run rate of over 7.00. At the end of 21 overs they batting duo bought their hundred run partnership and kept the Australian team on a bay with their quick half centuries that has shifted the pressure onto the hosts.  

Kohli and Dhawan continued to punish the Aussie bowlers as the Indian team crossed the 200 run mark at the end of 26 overs.

Dhawan answered his critics in the right way as he notched his much needed century. At the end of over number 34, George Bailey claimed to have taken a catch of Dhawan. The umpires after seeing the replays ruled out the catch as it has bounced before it had been caught by Bailey.     

Kohli scored his twenty-fifth hundred in style as the crowd cheered the batting display of the Indian Test team captain. Kohli and Dhawan also completed their 200 run partner ship which has put India in a commanding position.

After a blistering performance, Dhawan finally departs for a well made 126 from 113 balls. India lose three quick wickets as both Dhoni and Kohli follow Dhawan back to the pavilion in a span of two overs. The Australian bowers are right back in the game as they remove four Indian batsmen just giving out nine runs.

The Indian run chase is falling apart as the middle order collapses with fall of AM Rahane for just two runs. Australia have bounced back from the jaws of defeat with the tremendous spell from the Aussie bowlers. With two wickets remaining India require 36 runs from 18 balls. The victory seems to move away from India as a result of middle order collapse.

Richardson's fiery final spell did all the damage for the India team as he removed five wickets that toppled the Indian batting line up.

India are bundeled out for 323 at 49.2 overs with Ishant Sharma being the last person to be dismissed.

India lost the last nine wickets for meager 46 runs. With this stunning win Australia continue their dominance over India leading the series 4-0. 

Earlier Australia piled up 348/8 at the alloted 50 overs, after electing to bat first against India at the Manuka Oval here.

Glenn Maxwell scored a briskly 41 off 20 deliveries , before getting caught by Manish Pandey, the substitute fileder at the Mid-on region off an Ishant Sharma delivery.

His heroics came after Australia loosing Geoge Bailey, James Faulkner and wicketkeeper Mathew Wade cheaply, triggering a short mid-innings collapse.

Among Indian bowlers, Ishant Sharma took four wickets, although he conceded 77 runs in ten overs. His new ball partner Umesh Yadav claimed three for 67.

Yadav got the big wicket of  Aaron Finch for 107 runs, apart from dismissing Faulkner and Marsh.

Finch, who started rather submissively today, eventually brisked up his scoring rate as he reached his seventh ODI ton in 97 deliveries. He hit nine boundaries, along with two sixes. He was caught by Ishant Sharma at the mid-on region, while trying to pull a short-pitched delivery from Umesh Yadav.

David Warner , the other opener, while coming back from a paternity leave, scored a fluent 93 from 92 deliveries, along with 12 fours and one six.

The duo put a partnership of 187 runs for the first wicket , before Warner got his Middle stamp uprooted by a straight delivery from Ishant Sharma, thus becoming the first Aussie wicket of the day.


Here Starts the Indian Innings:

Australia win by 25 runs (Man of the Match: Kane Richardson)

After 49.2 overs: India 323/10, RA Jadeja: 24*, I Sharma c Wade b Marsh 0

After 49 overs: India 323/9, I Sharma: 0*, RA Jadeja: 24*, Run Rate: 6.59

After 48 overs: India 315/9, I Sharma: 0*, RA Jadeja: 18*, Run Rate: 6.58

After 46 overs: India 311/8, Umesh Yadav: 0*, RA Jadeja: 15*, Run Rate: 6.76

After 44 overs: India 308/7, RA Jadeja: 14*, Wicket: R Dhawn c Warner b Richardson 9

After 42 overs: India 294/6, R Dhawan: 0*, RA Jadeja: 9*, Run Rate: 7.00

After 41 overs: India 291/5, AM Rahane: 2*, RA Jadeja: 6*, Run Rate: 7.09

After 39 overs: India 278/3, Gurkeerat Singh: 0*, Virat Kohli 106*, Run Rate: 7.12

After 37 overs: India 274/1, Shikhar Dhawan: 124*, Virat Kohli 105*, Run Rate: 7.40

After 35 overs: India 259/1, Shikhar Dhawan: 115*, Virat Kohli 99*, Run Rate: 7.40

After 32 overs: India 242/1, Shikhar Dhawan: 105*, Virat Kohli 92*, Run Rate: 7.56

After 27 overs: India 213/1, Shikhar Dhawan: 88*, Virat Kohli 80*, Run Rate: 7.88

After 24 overs: India 184/1, Shikhar Dhawan: 72*, Virat Kohli 67*, Run Rate: 7.66 

After 13 overs: India 111/1, Wicket: Rohit Sharma 41, c Matthew Wade b Kane Richardson

After 6 overs: India 44/0, Dhawan 22*, Rohit 21*. Run Rate: 7.33

End of Australian Innings.

After 50 overs: Australia 348/8, Hastings 0*. Wicket: Glenn Maxwell 41, c Sub(Manish Pandey) b Ishant.

After 49 overs: Australia 330/7, Maxwell 23*, Hastings 0*. Wicket: Mathew Wade Run-out 0.

After 48 overs: Australia 319/5 , Maxwell 19*, Faulkner 0*. Wicket : Georje Bailey c Rohit Sharma b Ishant 10.

After 46 Overs: Australia 301/4, Maxwell 7*, Bailey 0*. Wicket: Steven Smith c Gurkeerat Singh b Ishant Sharma 51

After 45 Overs: Australia 294/3, Smith 51*, Maxwell 1*. Wicket: Mitchell Marsh c Kohli B Yadav 33.

After 43 overs: Australia 274/2, Marsh 28*, Smith 38*. Run Rate: 6.37

After 40 overs: Australia 237/2, Marsh 18*, Smith 12*. Run Rate: 5.92

After 37.2 overs: Australia 221/2 , Marsh 14*, wicket: Aaron Finch 107, Caught I Sharma Bowled Umesh Yadav.

After 34 overs: Australia 201/1 , Finch 100*, Marsh 2*

After 30 overs: Australia 188/1 , Marsh 1*, Finch 88*. Wicket: David Warner, Bowled by Ishant Sharma on 92.

After 26 overs: Australia 156/0, Warner 87*, Finch 63*

After 20 overs: Australia 125/0 , Warner 76*, Finch 45*, Current Run Rate: 6.24

After 15 overs: Australia 87/0, Warner reaches his 13 th ODI fifty

After 10 overs: Australia 59/0

Australia won the toss and decided to bat first.

Here are some twitter reactions on the match:



India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Gurkeerat Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rishi Dhawan, Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

Australia: Steven Smith (C), Aaron Finch, David Warner, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Kane Richardson and Nathan Lyon.
(With Inputs From PTI)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp