Dan Christian, Samuel Badree to play in South African T20 league

Apart from six international marquee players, who had already been announced, none of the foreign players attracted bids in the the top salary bracket of a million rand

Published: 17th October 2018 09:42 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th October 2018 09:42 PM   |  A+A-

Australia all-rounder Dan Christian (File | AFP)


JOHANNESBURG: Dan Christian, Samuel Badree and Jeevan Mendis headlined a modest list of international stars drafted into South Africa’s new Mzansi Super League Twenty20 tournament on Wednesday.

Australian all-rounder Christian, Sri Lankan all-rounder Jeevan Mendis and West Indian leg-spinner Badree were signed for 750,000 rand ($52,600) each for the month-long tournament, from November 15 to December 16. They will play for the Jozi Stars, Tshwane Spartans and Cape Town Blitz respectively.

Apart from six international marquee players, who had already been announced, none of the foreign players attracted bids in the the top salary bracket of a million rand during a draw function in Johannesburg.

READ | AB de Villiers included in draft for South Africa's Mzansi Super League T20 

All the million rand players were South Africans; David Miller, Dane Vilas, Tabraiz Shamsi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi and Chris Morris.

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan was assigned to Durban Heat, who had first choice of the international marquee players.

West Indians Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo will play for the Jozi Stars and Paarl Rocks respectively while England’s Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy and Dawid Malan will represent the Tshwane Spartans, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants and Cape Town Blitz.

None of the international marquee players will be available for the full tournament because of commitments to international cricket and a T10 tournament in Abu Dhabi but they will all be available for the final 13 days of the South African event.

South African marqee players are AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Kagiso Rabada, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir and Quinton de Kock, with the latter replacing the injured JP Duminy.

Other foreign players who will play in the league are Asif Ali (Pakistan), Sean Williams, Brandon Mavuta and Sikhandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Ben Duckett (England) and Paul Stirling (Ireland).

The six teams were allowed to pick a minimum of three and maximum of four international players, including South African Kolpak players. Kolpak players selected were Vilas, Kyle Abbott, Marchant de Lange, Simon Harmer, Cameron Delport and Heino Kuhn.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp