Karnataka, Andhra in Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinals

Meanwhile in Indore, Tamil Nadu made short work of Vidarbha after bundling them out for 150 and then chasing down the target in 11.2 overs.

Published: 01st March 2021 04:50 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st March 2021 04:50 AM   |  A+A-

cricket bat and ball

Image used for representational purpose only

By Express News Service

KOCHI: Devdutt Padikkal continued his fine form in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as his third-successive ton on Sunday helped the defending champions Karnataka seal a 10-wicket win over Railways and progress to the quarterfinal. Andhra also qualified after beating Jharkhand.

Even though Tamil Nadu emerged victorious against Vidarbha, Andhra piped them to top spot in Elite Group B thanks to better net run rate. Kerala kept their qualification hopes alive. After restricting Bihar to 148, they chased down the target in just 8.5 overs. Odisha lost to Bihar in Bengaluru. 

Hyderabad pulled off a thrilling victory with a two-run win over Goa. They finished third in Elite Group A with Gujarat qualifying for the last-8. It was Padikkal who was stole the limelight. After Karnataka restricted Railways to 284 for nine, Padikkal (145 n.o) and skipper Samarth R (130 n.o) led them to a comprehensive win.

Meanwhile in Indore, Tamil Nadu made short work of Vidarbha after bundling them out for 150 and then chasing down the target in 11.2 overs. Baba Aparajith, Kousik J and M Mohammed picked up three wickets each. Mohammed went onto score an unbeaten 37 while N Jagadeesan made quickfire 48.

Andhra also took less than 10 overs to chase down Jharkhand’s 139. The most nail-biting fixture of the day was the Hyderabad-Goa game. Hyderabad posted 345 for six with Tanmay Agarwal (150) and Tilak Varma (128) doing the bulk of the scoring. Goa pushed them all the way thanks to KD Eknath (169 n.o) and Snehal Kauthankar (116) but fell short by two runs. 

Brief scores
Group A: In Surat: Hyderabad 345/6 in 50 ovs (Tanmay 150, Tilak 128) bt Goa 343/6 in 50 ovs (Eknath 169 n.o, Kauthankar 116; Teja 3/69). Group B: In Indore: Vidarbha 150 in 41 ovs (Aparajith 3/10, Koushik 3/22, Mohammed 3/33) lost to TN 152/5 in 11.2 ovs (Jagadeesan 48 n.o). Jharkhand 139 in 46.2 ovs (Harishankar 4/30) lost to Andhra 140/3 in 9.5 ovs (Bhui 57 n.o). Group C: In Bengaluru: Railways 284/9 in 50 ovs (Pratham 129; Gopal 3/41) lost to Karnataka 285/0 in 40.3 ovs (Padikkal 145 n.o, Samarth 130 n.o). Bihar 148 in 440.2 ovs (Babul 64; Sreesanth 4/30, Saxena 3/30) lost to Kerala 149/1 in 8.5 ovs (Uthappa 87 n.o). Odisha 148 in 40.1 ovs (Senapati 49 n.o; Shivam 6/22) lost to UP 150/4 in 21.4 ovs. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp